Speaker Y Cable Advice

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Sickriverlespaul, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. Sickriverlespaul

    Sickriverlespaul Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    68
    l am looking to have a Y cable from my amp. One speaker output jack and need to run 2 cabs. Any ideas ?
     
  2. SG~GUY

    SG~GUY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    -I've done it, still do sometimes,
    good quality 1/4" jacks, 1 male & 2 female, couple feet of 14 AWG copper lamp cord-(the see through, so its easily identified)-solder connection's, poof!! Good to go!

    -(hook up both cabs to the "Y" connector and test the ohm's on the male jack tip & sleeve before plugging in to the amp)-
     
  3. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5,749
    Likes Received:
    2,124
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    Y cables
    Speaker load is critical, can damage the amplifier.

    Calculate the load to avoid burning up the transformer. You have been warned. You cannot just hook up any speaker load to any amplifier.

    Usually, do not use a Y cable...this is not a professional method.

    Speaker cabinets should have in /out jacks instead.
     
  4. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15,351
    Likes Received:
    12,642
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  5. Sickriverlespaul

    Sickriverlespaul Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    68
    Thanks for the ideas, the humbucker music Y cable I feel will fit the bill. My 1987 had a ppimv installed with the volume knob run out the back speaker out put jack. So to run a stack of 16 ohm cabs I plug in and set the load on 8ohms. Ordered one today!
     
    SG~GUY likes this.
  6. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15,351
    Likes Received:
    12,642
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    it looks like a decent solution. Dr Z amps...

    Here's what I did...

    Ysplitter_zps04ffa464.png

    I made a parallel splitter box. I wired it like this:

    series_zps9dd901e1.png

    & use it like this:

    ISO box (2- 1912 cab's)

    isocabpicture_zpsdcef7f43.png
     
    GIBSON67, Sickriverlespaul and SG~GUY like this.
  7. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    5,801
    Location:
    US of A
    I have a distribution box that can parallel and series cabinets with two inputs and four cabinet connections all switchable.

    Should I market it?
     
    SG~GUY and Dogs of Doom like this.
  8. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    15,351
    Likes Received:
    12,642
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    pro cables makes a series & parallel box. On my box, I did parallel, so I used an aluminum case, so the case adds more negative connection. On their series box, I think they use plastic, or have an insulator between the jacks & case, so you can do the loop.

    Probably the thing, if you market it, would be all the caveats & disclaimers. Using it w/ tube amp & ohm ratings, etc. If you unplug a speaker on series, will it still make a complete circuit?

    Seems anymore, user manuals are so vague, you are left to figure things out for yourself. If you do that w/ a speaker load on a tube amp, you'll probably get a lot of upset customers.
     
  9. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    5,801
    Location:
    US of A
    There would always be a load connected. The advantage to my design is that you can have both parallel and series at the same time if desired within the intended design use.
    The thing is I built prototypes for my use which is not designed for a high amperage rating yet is usable. I would only market a high amperage unit but it will cost; 6 high amp jacks and four toggles is one setup or the other is all jack connected with a total of 12 high amperage jacks. Any more than that for a power fan out and it is counter productive in design.

    I mentioned it somehow to Dunlop once but never got a response. So I guess it would be up to me providing and marketing the things.
     

Share This Page