Some Sort Of Marshall Clone Build...

Discussion in 'Building the Classics' started by SpHj, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So I happened into a bunch of parts last week for real cheap (Smallbox Headshell, Steel chassis, 800 Plexi faceplate, & a set of Classic Tone 800 transformers). I've got most of the small parts on hand as I repair amps locally so there's really not much more to pick up and have a great clone of some sorts. I'm still on the fence about what circuit I'm gonna go with but we'll see how it ends up!

    This'll be a slow build over the next couple months in my spare time, but I'll document here along the way for all to see.

    Enjoy!


    Sockets installed

    [​IMG]

    Transformer set

    [​IMG]

    Transformers Installed

    [​IMG]

    Lets get to work!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The Board is mostly populated...missing some parts...good thing they’re already in the mail!

    [​IMG]
     
  3. BftGibson

    BftGibson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    291
    I'm in ! Take me on a Marshall build journey ! thanks
     
    SpHj likes this.
  4. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Installed the Preamp filter cap as I had a 32+32uF cap on hand.
    Cleaned up the transformer wires as well.

    [​IMG]

    Also installed most of the pots as I had them on hand & figured out my grounding scheme. I’m going with a 5k presence control.

    [​IMG]

    That’s it for tonight. Gotta wait for parts now.
     
  5. neikeel

    neikeel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    1,224
    Is that an old 50w Master PA chassis? Will it fit in a small box cab?
    Looking good so far:agreed:
     
  6. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I doubt it is although it may be based on one...looks too new. And yes it does fit in a Smallbox! It came with it:band:
     
  7. Yugedrums

    Yugedrums Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I want to build a kit so bad and I can't get enough of this kind of thing. Definitely subscribing to this. This forum doesn't get enough activity!
     
  8. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    *Minor Update*

    So while I anxiously await delivery of parts (it could be a while as Canada Post is currently on strike) I fitted and grounded the remaining filter caps and dry fitted the output jacks. I’m not going to install a loop as I don’t use them.

    [​IMG]

    I’ll utilize every hole in this chassis for 1x4ohm 2x8ohm and 2x16ohm hookups. Save $$ on a selector switch. As you can see the OT wires are attached to a terminal strip. Nice and tidy.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I’m also going to utilize a hole already drilled on the front panel & chassis for an “input” value switch.

    [​IMG]

    It’ll switch from the 800 470k/470p to my favourite 68k ohm on the input for an 800 front end.

    [​IMG]

    And it’ll also utilize the spot on the board where 2 of the 68k resistors go for a 4-holer

    [​IMG]

    That’s it for now...hopefully parts come in soon!
     
    jensvonbustenskjol likes this.
  10. Dean Swindell

    Dean Swindell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    25
    Way cool, thanks for posting this. I'm new here and can't find the threads for my specific questions or how to start a new one. But............have you built a Weber kit? I hear they just throw you the parts and you're on your own. That would be okay if they didn't do some things so uniquely like the physical construction of the power supply (electronically I like it because I've worked on a hundred black&silver Fenders) it's mounted in a dopey way. Any experience with these guys?
     
  11. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    *Update*

    Parts are finally in!

    Well, the wire isn’t what I was hoping it would be aesthetically but it’s rated super high and won’t melt so that’s good.

    Heater & OT wires installed,

    [​IMG]

    Board is now fully populated,

    [​IMG]

    Front Panel is on with Jacks and switches dry fit...she’s starting to look like an amp now!

    [​IMG]

    That’s it for tonight, in the next few days it’s all the small wiring...hopefully by the weekend she’ll be ready to burn in!
     
    jmp45 and Yugedrums like this.
  12. FourT6and2

    FourT6and2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    136
    You might run into some problems using a carbon comp resistor from your PT HT secondary to the bias section. I would recommend changing that to a metal oxide or metal film (1W+ 500v). CC are ok for certain spots where you want their reactance to influence the sound of the amp. But you want the bias section to be rock solid and steady. You don't want your bias dropper to drift in value as the amp heats up.

    Also those black silver mica caps have been to known to leak DC. Make sure you test them once you fire the amp up.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
    SpHj likes this.
  13. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Whew! Gotta love that wire...
    Preamp tubes are all wired up. What a chore...this wire is NOT easy to work with....lesson learned for next time...

    [​IMG]

    Power and standby switches getting some wires

    [​IMG]

    Filter caps, fuse holders, indicator light & ground wires installed...just the pot wires and IEC plug to go!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. SpHj

    SpHj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    437
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    All wired and ready to fire up!

    [​IMG]

    Some pot shots:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Finally, time for a test run!
     
    Yugedrums likes this.

Share This Page