Running (2) 2x12 Cabs

Discussion in 'Other Amps' started by dinkyguitar, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hi,

    I would like to have (2) 2x12 cabs with my 100 watt amp.

    And run both 2x12's, and if I need to bring my equipment, take my head and (1) 2x12 cab.

    The problem is if I buy 16ohm speakers I'll have to set the amp to 4ohm when I run the (2) 2x12 cabs.

    I do have an option to run 2 cabs at 4ohm on the amp, but I'm not sure if that's "preferred".

    My other option is to buy 8ohm speakers but for some reason they are more expensive (G12M-65).

    Are there other options on wiring 16ohm speakers to fit my plan?

    dinky
     
  2. Bloodrock

    Bloodrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Location:
    Ft.WorthTX
    I had the same issue switching to a 2x12. All my speakers were 16 ohm. There’s no way to wire 2 16 ohm speakers to 16 ohms. I’d recommend getting the 8 ohm speakers. I don’t like running amps at their minimum rating unless it’s solid state.
     
  3. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    705
    You could wire each 2/12 with a DPDT switch to have a 2 16ohm box resist at 8ohm or 32ohm …
    On 4/12 nights paralleling the two cabs set to 32ohm would get you back to 16ohm
    On 2/12 nights switch to 8ohm
    Just sayin
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  4. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    Good in theory!

    I would probably do 8 ohm speakers though, to make two 16 ohm 2x12's. My reason is not fundamental, but having a 32ohm setting on a cab, although perfectly functional in this case, is a bit 'quirky'. Plus, many amps only have one 16ohm jack (but not a prob if there's a switched pair for 8/16). Plus, you have to add those switches.
     
  5. J Saw

    J Saw Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    VA
    That way seemed to make the most sense to me when I was getting new cabs.
    2 16ohm 2x12 from the 8ohm amp jack if I ever need more air.
    So far all I've needed is 1 2x12 at 16ohms. :D
     
  6. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    705
    Lol … I was hesitant when I worded that … you're correct that having the 2/12 cabs be 2 8ohm in series, each as a static 16ohm cab is more sensical … solutions certainly exist !! Extra 16ohm speakers On the shelf tho……
     
  7. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    I don't think I can use this as the amp only handles 2-16 ohm's cabs which I would set the head to 8ohm output.
     
  8. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    I think I'll start looking for a nice set of 8ohm speakers for my 5150 III 100 watt.
     
    Jon C likes this.
  9. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    705
    That's your most conventional fix
     
  10. Adieu

    Adieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    376
    Daisy chain series instead of parallel output wiring comes to mind
     
  11. houseofrock

    houseofrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Florida
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
    stringtree likes this.
  12. JeffMcLeod

    JeffMcLeod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    952
    I replaced my 16 ohm speakers with 8 ohmers in series.

    :hbang:


    [​IMG]
     
  13. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have a similar idea, separating the cabs like that.

    How does that sound compared to 1 4x12? Must sound pretty good with delay/reverb.

    I'm looking at the Eminence v128. Heard good things about those speakers.

    Then each cab will be 16ohms.

    dinky
     
    stringtree likes this.
  14. JeffMcLeod

    JeffMcLeod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    952

    I don't have a 412 right now, so I can't compare. I've only used both cabs at home so far, not in a band situation. A single 212 is plenty for when we jam, I cut right through everything, lol.
     
    stringtree likes this.
  15. houseofrock

    houseofrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Florida
    [​IMG][/QUOTE]

    That second cab looks like it needs a second head on top.
     
  16. chromeboy

    chromeboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    San Bruno,CA
    I'm using jet city amps which can run two 8 ohm cabs or two 16 ohm cabs not sure how that works but I am using two 2x12 cabs. All jet city amps and cabs.
     
  17. harleytech

    harleytech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    189
    2 -16ohm cabs , run the amp at 8ohms... Done !
    8ohm speakers in the cabs run in series for 16ohms...
     

Share This Page