Preamp Tubes? - Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How?

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by joshuaaewallen, Jan 29, 2009.

1. joshuaaewallen

joshuaaewallen Active Member

Hey All! I'm still a bit new to the Marshall Forum, but already I have seen quite a bit of discussion regarding the selection and operation of power amp tubes. But... I would really like to get some feed back regarding the selection of preamp tubes.

I rarely play out, and quite frankly seldom have opportunity to turn my TSL122 up past 1 or 2. I am aware of the fact that because of this, I will be getting most of my tone from my preamp section, and not from the power amp. That being the case I would like to know more about how preamp tubes effect my sound.

I play mainly classic rock ranging from AC/DC to Def Leppard. Clearly I love distorted guitar tone, but I also love the way my TSL122 sounds on the clean channel. So...

What I am hoping for is feedback from you more experienced members of the forum regarding such topics as: How will different tubes change my sound to better suit my style of playing? What tonal qualities do different preamp tubes have? What is a good starting point for finding the right tubes for me? Can I "mix-and-match" preamp tubes? How long do preamp tubes last? How often should I replace them?

Please, do share your thoughts on this subject. I am eager to know what your experiences have been. Thanks in advance for your responses!

[​IMG]

AlanH and j2112c like this.
  2. Patill

Patill New Member

preamp tubes last A LOT longer than power amp tubes because they don´t get that hot. A broken Preamp tube is mostly a production mistake.

Tubes in microphones for example stay there their whole life usually, there is no socket to change them.

I don´t know how they will affect your sound, but that´s very hard to tell anyway.

3. steelhorse

steelhorse New Member