Power conditioner

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by slash38, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. slash38

    slash38 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    Since i'm running my JCM and my SL5 through the same outlet..i was thinking about getting a power conditioner. Anyone ever use the monster one? Do ireally need it?
     
  2. LAARS

    LAARS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    450
    I personally use a Furman voltage regulator, not just a power conditioner. The AR-1215
    FurmanSound.com - Pro A/V Product - AR-1215
    If you play in clubs, its a MUST have. It gives 110V no matter if you have 97V or 140V coming in. Protects your gear, and your tone as well. I hear the one from Monster is real good too.
     
  3. slash38

    slash38 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    I was looking into those Furman conditioners. Look pretty cool, and i'm pretty sure thats in Slashs rig to:naughty::slash:
     
  4. erikthered76

    erikthered76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    new orleans USA
    I use a monster pro 2600. cant say anything but good about it.
     
  5. C-4

    C-4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    39
    There is a difference between a power conditioner and a power regulator.
    The former cleans up dirty electricity coming from the wall outlet and protects against surges and spikes in wall voltage.

    A power regulator, such as the Furman 1215 additionally keeps the voltage coming from the wall between safe levels, incase the wall voltage drops or rises significantly.

    Some power regulators are not as expensive as the Furman, and not rack mounted. Look into ACP and Tripp Lite for similar gear that is not rack mountable, but does the same thing the Furman does.
     
  6. SirArcsAlot

    SirArcsAlot Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    128
    I'd recommend getting just a power conditioner. I have the Furman m-8x2. I posted a thread about still getting some wall hum from it, even though it advertises it cuts out RFI, etc etc. What makes it convenient for me is that it's rack mountable and has plenty of outlets, so I can run all my heads through it. What it WONT do is make your rig quieter.

    Mine is basically just a rackmount wall strip, and most power conditioners are.
     
  7. slash38

    slash38 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    Thanks for the advice! i will look into it! thanks guys
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice