Plexi major value ?

Discussion in 'Let's Talk Vintage' started by guzzis3, Aug 24, 2019.

1. guzzis3

guzzis3 Member

Hi,

I'm new here. I've been poking around to try and not break any rules. I hope this is ok to post.

I would like opinions on what my major is worth. I'm not posting in forsale because I'm not sure I want to part with it yet.

I bought it in the 80's. It had already lost one of the knob caps, been retolexed in the wrong material and lost the script. The front face has a crack and the power had been replaced with an ieee socket. You have to remember back them they weren't really collectable. The tag says (as I remember) april 68. I could pop the back and check...if it matters. If I remember correctly it's a 1965 model, not the PA. Same knobs as a 1959 or 1987.

Last time I turned it on it didn't fire up. Blew a fuse. I suspect the filter caps as they haven't been done since the early 90's. It was carefully mod'd for partial self bias. I have the resistors that were in it somewhere but I can't say they were the originals.

So it needs a lot of work.

I am in Australia but if I know what a sensible price is for them overseas I can probably take a guess at what I'd get locally.

Thank you for reading.

2. john hammond

john hammond Well-Known Member

if the amp is non functioning, its not worth much anywhere.
    I'd be taking that to get filters, and then listing as a functioning amp.
    I'd suggest in Australia you'd get whatever they get in USA or U.k, so just average out a price based on what you see them sell for on reverb, ebay etc.
    Remember in Australia they pay import fees and obviously shipping from anywhere else, so a ' normally' priced one minus these costs would be appealing to anyone that is after this sort of thing.

3. Drinkingdeath01

Drinkingdeath01 Well-Known Member

Pics please.

4. guzzis3

guzzis3 Member