Original Jtm 45 - Sell Or Refurb?

Discussion in 'Let's Talk Vintage' started by Kigtod, Mar 3, 2019.

1. Kigtod

Kigtod New Member

0D23ED20-3157-4673-A35A-87100E70676A.jpeg DA3A6EFD-0C44-486C-91E6-16AEADBB61AA.jpeg Hi

I’m new here and have decided after many years (40+) to ‘do something ‘ about my old MkII JTM 45’ head.

This was my first amp bought second hand in about 1972. It developed a problem we called ‘motorboating’ (low frequency oscillation). I was a trainee electronic engineer so I decided to rebuild the amp with a transistorised version. (Of course, if I’d known then how it would have been worth in the future of course I wouldn’t have done that.) You need to remember at that time all I wanted was a working amp and there was a nice 2 x 50W design in a magazine called ‘Elektor’ which I built and fitted together with a Bang & Olufsen pre-amp PCB supplied by our lead guitarist who was working for B&O at the time.

It worked OK and I used it for many years until I’d earned enough to get another amp. It has been sat in my (dry) garage since.

So, should I sell it ‘as is’ or would it be worth refurbishing? I’d like advice on what it might be worth in the current state and if there are any good component sets available if a refurb would be a better route.

I’ve attached a couple of photos and you’ll see the serial number is 1496 which I think makes it early sixties. If there is any interest in this post I can post a photo of the inside but only the chassis end castings are original. Oh, and it has the original cover

Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  2. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

Could you post pictures of the insides?

It looks like it's been modified.
    Having it restored would be a good thing although it is worth quite a bit "as-is," it's worth more in working condition.

3. Gunner64

Gunner64 Well-Known Member