Old fart, first Marshall

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by vtrain, May 22, 2020.

1. vtrain

vtrain Member

Hi there. I've been a mostly bedroom guitarist for almost 40 years. I picked up my first guitar in the third grad, a nun gave me my first lessons. I wasn't very good back then, and not much has changed. I go through periods when I play more, and periods when I play hardly at all, but I've always had a guitar nearby.

During the pandemic, I've been getting back into it. I just love to play, unless it frustrates the hell out of me. I suppose it's partly a stress reliever, taking my mind off all the negative stuff.

I've owned at least a dozen amps over the years, several Fenders, semi-custom and boutique-y Fender styles, Mesa Boogie, Yamaha, Hiwatt. Until recently I had a 1962 Princeton brownface with transitional blackface cosmetics. I sold it, and for a while my only amp was a Yamaha THR10C which has several low/medium gain models and a variety of effects. I've always been a tube amp guy, but this is an impressive little desktop amp. Tiny speakers though, and no easy way to plug in an external speaker. I also have a Vibrolux 5F11 kit sitting in the closet that I need to finish. It would be a good pandemic project, but my workspace is taken up by actual work. I stopped working on the kit when my son was born, almost four years ago.