Offset Jtm45 Builder

Discussion in 'Building the Classics' started by fxavg, Apr 2, 2018.

1. fxavg

fxavg New Member

Hi All,

I've been recently getting more and more interested in an Offset spec (1962~65) JTM45, but it seems that not many builders offer such an amp. I would try to clone one myself, but I am not experienced with electronics and do not want to shock myself. I was wondering if there were any builders, on the forum or elsewhere, who would be able to help me with this tone chase.

Any help is much appreciated.

2. stickyfinger

stickyfinger Active Member

Hi there and welcome to the forum!

A few folks here could build you one. What are you looking for exactly? A JTM 45 that simply looks like a offset using the EC grill cloth like the Park Reissue uses and modern parts? Offset and NOS tone parts? A NOS parts build being authentic in everyway possible? Because parts, especially NOS will add up to close 1400- 1800USD depending on how authentic you go. Now throw in a original RS Deluxe output transformer. 700-1000$ alone..

I was getting ready for full NOS JTM 45 for my June vacation..

3. fxavg

fxavg New Member

The plan was to go NOS as far as budget would allow, which means probably will have to use some modern transformers, but other than that authentic in every way possible. I'm looking a super early spec JTM45, so I'm definately looking for the sound of the circuit rather than just the looks. I'm looking for this build to hopefully get going in the summer as well.

4. neikeel

neikeel Well-Known Member

I have built one.
    http://forum.metropoulos.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=45280&p=458100&hilit=offset+neikeel#p458100
    I used NOS parts for certain bits but used a S Marshall chassis and front face, Marstran RS Deluxe OT and 20H choke with Majestic custom PT, new filter caps, pots, switches and jacks.