NPD: BOSS NS-2 (FAIL?)

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by SkyMonkey, Dec 1, 2019.

  1. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Not sure how to do that?

    I got the routing suggestion off the Roland blog page: https://rolandcorp.com.au/blog/how-to-use-boss-ns-2-noise-suppressor-in-your-rig
     
  2. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    My bank account won't! I appreciate the suggestion but £250 is way too much.
     
  3. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
  4. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Tried both with my VS65R and in the return is far better. All depends on the amp I suppose.
     
  5. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    354
    Definitely understand. It's not cheap (to me though, worth it). Black Friday deals are done but perhaps can find it used.

    There's another that is supposed to be similar, a bit cheaper, but double sized pedal... the Highwind Phalanx noise gate. If I didn't have the Zuul, I'd be getting one of these:

    https://highwindamplification.bigcartel.com/product/highwind-phalanx-preorder
     
  6. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    354
    Also...

     
  7. stringtree

    stringtree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    I get this...

    [​IMG]

    This would be typical..

    [​IMG]


    Don't know why the guitar would go through right from the start.


    [​IMG]


    This last one is kind of unappealing.. Never thought of it, but would like to try it just
    to hear it.


    [​IMG]
     
  8. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    The idea for the last one is to remove the instrument noise first (guitar to input) and then remove gain pedal and preamp noise separately (pedals/preamp to return).
    It may be a bit excessive really. I am tending to think that NS last in the chain before first time based is enough.
    Also separate NS pedal for high and low gain pedals/preamps.
     
    stringtree likes this.
  9. stringtree

    stringtree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Putting the guitar first into the NS2 is just killing the guitar right from the start. Its good to have options, but I would think
    that would be the least interesting thing to do.

    I'm more for guitar straight in to the amp, and the NS2 in the loop being the last pedal if time based effects are being used.
    This is for using your preamp for your dirt tones, kills the excess/unwanted noise before the power stage.
    [​IMG]

    If one is using a pedal for dirt tones then I would do/try this.
    [​IMG]

    Time based effects on a whole, should not be a noise problem for an effects loop.
    Depends on the quality of the pedal though. EQs could bring some noise in play in the loop, maybe when
    pushing the gain/level control to high.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    I agree, but think I would need 2 different NS pedals for the differing gain levels I want to achieve, and LS-2 to switch loops.
    Thinking:
    Loop A:[Guitar>BD-2>Amp preamps>FX send>NS-2]>TB effects>FX return.
    Loop B:[Guitar>MT-2>TC Elec. Sentry]>TB effects>FX return.

    LS-2 will have output from each loop to the TB effects.
     
  11. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,003
    Likes Received:
    8,009
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    The last one is the best way to hook it up if you are using pedals in the loop, it works.
     
    SkyMonkey and stringtree like this.
  12. stringtree

    stringtree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    I just never thought about the NS2 being first in line, that being the guitar goes first into it.

    This whole signal chain intrigues me, and if I had the pedals and the NS2 I would try it.

    Looking at it more, its actually the 4CM, just using individual pedals instead of a processor.
    Absolutely Cool! :dude:
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  13. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,003
    Likes Received:
    8,009
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Part of the reasoning for placing the NS2 first is it sets the noise threshold to that of the guitars pickup which is very low to begin with. This arrangement will gate the shit out of any noise.
     
    stringtree and SkyMonkey like this.
  14. El Gringo

    El Gringo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,353
    Location:
    Shakedown Street
    Out of curiosity , why the need for the MT-2W ? When to me there is nothing better than a tube driven cranked Marshall that covers all the bases for me .
     
  15. Sustainium

    Sustainium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    440
    Location:
    Lapeer, Michigan
    Sounds great on Pantera covers.
    5C2714CA-5AEC-4FD1-BE89-302BED51C661.gif
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  16. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    The way I see it:
    Gate first works the same for all following levels of gain. But does nothing for high gain preamp noise.
    Gate last silences everything in the chain to that point. But can't cope with wide differences in gain.

    This must be why some pedals have the in-built loop, but will always fail to cope with wide gain differences.
     
    stringtree likes this.
  17. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Vive la difference!
     
    Sustainium likes this.
  18. El Gringo

    El Gringo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,353
    Location:
    Shakedown Street
    That is what's great about life that we have choices
     
    stringtree and SkyMonkey like this.
  19. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,003
    Likes Received:
    8,009
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Gate first then time delay fx through the loop and dead silience even with super high gain amps.
     
  20. stringtree

    stringtree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    I share SkyMonkeys understanding. I never thought of the gate first, especially for high gain amps.

    I am not arguing with you anitoli, I'm learning something new here and appreciate it. I'm eager to try these things but don't have pedals at this time. Do like the knowledge. :dude:

    Interesting video, do you anitoli agree with this...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice