New Speaker for 2525c

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Fuse, Nov 25, 2019.

1. Fuse

Fuse New Member

Hi all. I'm a newbie here with a question. I've got a 2525c (the Silver Jubilee mini combo), and while I like it, I'm not that nuts about the speaker. It compresses too much with distortion, and the sound disappears into the back of the cab even with the presence turned all the way up. So, I'm thinking about trying a new speaker in it. The stock speaker is a Celestion G12M-25 (Greenback). After doing a bunch of reading, I'm leaning toward a Celestion G12H (55) from the Heritage Series or a G12M-65 Creamback. Any thoughts or recommendations? Thanks.

paul hancher likes this.
  2. Sustainium

Sustainium Well-Known Member

I haven’t heard much if any complaints with greenbacks, you might be the first.:coffee:

3. Fuse

Fuse New Member

Well, the G12H (55) actually is a greenback. But the G12M-25 that's currently in the amp just doesn't do much for me. As I said, the sound just tends to disappear into the back of the cab as it distorts, and I really don't like that. I've heard that because the G12H (55) was originally a bass speaker and has a different cone in it, it doesn't compress back as much. So, that's why I'm interested in it. As well, the 2525c is a REALLY bright amp, and I wonder if a G12H (55) might help tame that down a bit. Has anyone out there heard a G12H (55)? Can you tell me anything about them?

4. Bloodrock

Bloodrock Well-Known Member

You say the amp is REALLY bright but you’re playing with the presence all the way up? Lol. Man I’m not sure what sound you’re looking for but the Jubes sound great with V30’s. They were designed around that speaker.

Jethro Rocker likes this.
  5. Fuse

Fuse New Member