new jtm45...something is wrong with my phase inverter!

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by laycern8, Jul 27, 2019.

1. laycern8

laycern8 Member

Hello everyone! The last time I had a problem with this build I posted it here and you all were beyond helpful (thanks again). I need some advice so I can finally get this build from the "workbench" to the "building the classics" with some victory lap shots.

I build a jtm45. on power up, the pin values for V1 and V2 look great. The pin values for V3 (PI - 12ax7) do not. I can't figure out why. All the resistors I have checked seem to be in range, even the old carbon comps. Hoping someone can tell me which components I should check on, I'm still a novice when it comes to understanding circuits.

The values I SHOULD have on V3 are as follows, by pin number:

V3: 1- 205 VDC
    3 - 48 VDC
    6- 195 VDC
    8 - 48 VDC

Instead, my values are

V3: 1 - 201 VDC
    3 - 29 VDC
    6 - 337 VDC
    8 - 29 VDC

Pin 6, which I know is anode #1, seems concerning. It is a 72% increase from expected value. Strangely, the cathodes are also affected, but are showing lower values than expected. Please help!

Also, would running the amp in this state damage any components?

Thank you all in advance. It's really a privilege to be able to access a community of people with such expertise.

2. Far Rider

Far Rider Hendrixian VIP Member

I'm a newbie myself at amp building, and also built a JTM45. Have you tried swapping tubes to see if there is any change?

3. laycern8

laycern8 Member

Far Rider yes I have. I have three new 12ax7's, a tung sol, a mullard and a JJ. I've swapped them all around but the values stay the same.

For the record, B+ is 443VDC

4. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

Seems like the tube is bad...

5. laycern8

laycern8 Member

It doesn’t fit though. No matter what tube I put in there, they all behave the same way. Low values on cathodes, super high value on anode #1.