Nad...blue Marshall 6100...but It Doesn't Work. Suggestions Please?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by islandjimmy, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Bingo. This is why i asked if there was 15 pos/neg at the channel switching opamps.
     
    mickeydg5 and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  2. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    No, half power lifts the cathode connection from two of the tubes ground hookup, triode changes the point where the screen grid draws B+ from.
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  3. BftGibson

    BftGibson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    531
    this reminds me off a mesa express i had..iswapped out the speaker , reg ol swap and i went to play..hum..faint noise ..but nothing, no sound ..but hummm..ordered tubes and went on all kinda diagnosing..then one day,, opened it up..just because and when i re hooked up speaker , i used the other 8 ohm jack..and ta da !! back to normal..the one jack was dead
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  4. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
  5. Gutch220

    Gutch220 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    138
    ....plus doesn't the FX loop have a series/parallel option with their associated line levels? If something is faulty here, could that prevent a signal from passing through the amp? But you could easily test this by plugging a guitar into the FX-loop return, so I don't know.

    Also, it looks like you guys have different circuits/boards (did marshall use variations on the 6100?). If you look at R18 on each picture, one has a hole in the board for a wire while the other (his) does not. So now, I don't know what to think. :shrug:

    upload_2019-1-12_21-55-24.png
     
  6. Gene Ballzz

    Gene Ballzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    854
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Yes indeed, I see at least five fuses inside the chassis, in addition to any external fuses. Each needs to get pulled and metered! One other thing that has not been mentioned (unless I missed it) is the possibility of dirty/corroded/oxidized jack contacts as well as switch contacts.
    Just Sayin'
    Gene
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  7. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Yes they used different boards between the LE's, Anniversary, and LM's. This is also why i asked about the solder pad at EC1-A position as there appears to be a broken off wire there. Some of the earlier heads used this point to make the ground connection. They also tacked it onto one of the caps ground leads and then they put the through hole connection in on the LM's. Even though these boards have solder pads and trace on both sides, most of these connection have to be soldered on the bottom as some of these top traces don't do anything.
     
  8. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    This is from the op's pics:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I tested all 7 fuses in this amp and they all tested good. I used a continuity setting with an alarm sound if the connection is good, they all passed. There was one fuse in slot F403 that was slow to beep but it did eventually, not sure if that matters.
     
  10. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I took a close look at that hole and it is super clean. It does not look like there was ever solder there. The hole is perfectly round and unobstructed. That picture is a bit deceptive because it looks like there is something in the hole but there is not.
     
    anitoli likes this.
  11. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    1,824
    Just curious, did you remove the fuses when testing them? Sometimes, depending on the circuit, you can get false readings on a fuse that's still in the circuit (readings through resistors...). It's always best to remove fuses when testing them. It's also good practice to take voltage readings on each side of a fuse before removing it, to assure there are no stored voltages present (charged caps...). Just connect the negative lead of your meter to the chassis and probe the fuse holders with the positive lead (meter set to DC volts (500). Always best to be safe, than sorry.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  12. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Here's the board ID number on mine.
    Board number.jpeg
     
  13. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yes, I removed each one for testing. I also needed the number off of each one so I can order more.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  14. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    4,452
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Ok, can you check those voltages that i asked about?
     
  15. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I don't get any value when I test the voltage on these pins. I know where pins 4 and 8 are on each prom chip so lets make sure I'm doing this correctly. After setting my meter to voltage, I chose 20, do I put the red probe on 4 and the black on 8? Or vise versa? That's what I did both ways and got 0. Dumb question #2 is the amp supposed to be on standby when I do this?
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  16. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    1,824
    The amp can be in Standby or out of Standby. You want to measure the pins with reference to ground (negative meter probe on chassis or PCB ground).
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
  17. Gutch220

    Gutch220 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    138
    If you have 4 or 5 different PCB boards, each will have its own 'name'. There's a lot going on under there. Did you try thoroughly cleaning everything yet? After sitting for 25 years, this would be job #1.
     
  18. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Can you tell me what types of cleaning I should do? I have a can of Deoxit D5. Should I be cleaning pots and pin connectors?
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
  19. Gutch220

    Gutch220 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    138
    I'd recommend this to clean, and this to lube afterwards. Many people like DeoxIT including myself.
     
  20. islandjimmy

    islandjimmy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    IC201 pin 4= .43 pin 8= .48
    IC202 pin 4= .43 pin 8= .48
    Meter set to voltage 20, negative (black) on chassis, red on pin.
     
    HOT TUBES 70 likes this.

Share This Page