mg15cfx/mg15fx or dsl15c

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Bl0l, Jan 1, 2014.

1. Bl0l

Bl0l New Member

I'm a beginner guitarist who dreams of playing everything from Santana to GNR, Pearl Jam,Velvet Revolver, Foo fighters to Iron Maiden
    and Metallica. I'm thinking of getting either an mg15fx/mg15cfx or the dsl15c.
    I'm also open to any other amp suggestions in the 15-30 watt range.
    and can someone please explain to me the difference between the mg15fx and the mg15cfx???
    Looking forward to your advice!!! :hbang:

2. HeHasTheJazzHands

HeHasTheJazzHands Well-Known Member

DSL5 or MG15CFX. If you're a beginner, 15w of tube power will probably be too much.

Or if you don't mind going used, look for a used Marshall Lead 12 combo.

3. Bl0l

Bl0l New Member

yeah it'll be mostly bedroom practice for the next 4 or 5 months for me :/
    i'd prefer not to go used though.
    what's the difference between an mg15cfx and an mg15fx?

4. HeHasTheJazzHands

I think it's just the carbon fiber and the silver aesthetics, but I have heard the CFX sounds somewhat better, but it could be a myth.

5. 33KHD

33KHD Well-Known Member

Don't underestimate the value of used. You're going to go into a shop and pay full price plus tax. 6 months from now your amp will be on e-bay, craigslist or kijiji for 1/3 of what you had invested.

Do your homework and you might find some good deals as it's still a buyers market out there.

Best of luck.

Risamaru and HeHasTheJazzHands like this.
  6. JohnH

JohnH Well-Known Member

They seem like very different things to be comparing. The DSL, 5 or 15 etc should be much better, for considerably more $

7. jvm210guy

jvm210guy New Member

Go with the DSL15c, that way you won have an issue playing with loud friends..

Risamaru likes this.
  8. user name

user name New Member

Research the following topics before making a purchase:
    1. tube amps vs. solid state amps
    2. low watt amps vs. high watt amps