Mercury Magnetics 10 Henry & 3 Henry Chokes Dimensions?

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by RickyLee, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    I wired up a Mercury Magnetics 10 henry MC10H into my SL-X, but have not drilled any holes in the chassis yet. I would like to pick up the 3 henry MAR100-C Mercury choke as well to compare, so I am wondering if these two chokes are the same size and have the same mounting configuration and center to center holes span?

    I wired in the 10 henry choke and just wanted to make sure there was not going to be any noise issues with it in front of my power transformer. So far, I can not hear any added noise/hum or interference coming through the amp/speaker. But I am hearing a very slight high frequency wining noise from the choke itself that changes frequency/higher as I move it closer to the power transformer.
     
  2. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    Let me just put my marker down here and subscribe to this post, next spare $40 is going to a 3H for the TSL 100, and I'd like to hear the answer to this one before I start experimenting.
     
  3. Wilder Amplification

    Wilder Amplification New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    Fresno, CA

    And we are comparing against what!?!?!?
     
  4. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    Stock I guess is the correct answer? I don't quite get where you are coming from. I'm not really comparing against anything... unless you count that sound in my head.
     
  5. big dooley

    big dooley Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,338
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Location:
    zeeland
    i've seen guys over at the JVM forum using both... and switchable using a toggle... one of them even let the stock resistor in place so he has three modes of AC-filtering on that amp
     
  6. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    That's a great solution, Big Dooley. Any idea what the proper mounting distance is for a choke... does it matter? Does a 3h and a 10H have the same mounting configuration and center to center holes span?
     
  7. big dooley

    big dooley Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,338
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Location:
    zeeland
    i wouldn't call it a solution, just another feature... the same guy made the bright cap on V1b switchable: out/stock/other value
    and did the same on one of the other gain stages...
    he did something else too, but i can't remember what... he had a quad of threeway toggles mounted to the already crowded JVM 410H frontpanel... i do like options and features but this thing was just pure overkill :D

    as for the distance i don't have a clue..
     
  8. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    Maybe "approach" would have been a better word:D
     
  9. Landshark

    Landshark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    265
    Location:
    Terre Haute, Indiana
    I think he was saying you were comparing an SL-X choke placement with a TSL Choke placement... Which Now I'm curious as to what the deal is on that...
     
  10. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    I was doing nothing of the sort. Thanks for clearing that up, Landshark. And I am waiting to hear the answer to the OP's question too.:hmm:
     
  11. Landshark

    Landshark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    265
    Location:
    Terre Haute, Indiana
    I know you weren't. From what I read you were just trying to learn if choke placement can have any negative effects and where the best placement is. Same here!:wave:
     
  12. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    And a FINE Good Morning, Good Morning, Good Morning UUUHHH!!! To All!



    Current flow through a resistor vs. current flow through an inductor . . .


    Duh.



    LOL


    :D



    All joking aside, at this point I am comparing NOISE: The choke close to the power transformer vs. farther away. I do not have much room to play with anyway.

    But the main thing I am asking is for the future, as I WILL BE Comparing the 3H vs. the 10H vs. the stock 100 ohm resistor. But I need to know, if I go and drill holes in my chassis for the 10H, will the 3H drop in the mounting/grommet holes and be close to the same width and thickness on it's physical dimensions??








    Nothing to do, it's up to You . . .
    I've got nothing to say, but it's OK.
    Good Morning, Good Morning, Good Morning UUUHHH!!!
     
  13. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    I do not think you will have that much of a choice with mounting distance with the TSL100, as with me and the SL-X, as the power transformers are right there close. But I can not hear any added noise coming through the amp and speaker. But it was a bit late last night and I could not crank the amp up.

    Or are you referring to the bolt hole span when you say mounting difference?


    Anyway, I will be putting my results in the SL-X thread. I am getting ready to get back on it here in a few and crank the amp up with the choke in it. I will probably add the extra 50uF that is just sitting there not being used to the beginnning of the B+ rail as well. I made it so I can swap chokes in and out quite easily (just need the mounting hole info though), so now I just need to get out the smokin' credit card and make the purchase for a couple MAR100-C 3 henry chokes.

    I was AB'ing the amp last night with and without that extra 50uF of filtering, and it made no difference. But that was before I put the choke in. And I did not have the amp up that loud either comparing the filtering values.
     

Share This Page