Marshall Valvestate 8080 won't turn on at all...

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by steverez, Nov 4, 2009.

1. steverez

steverez New Member

I have a valvestate 8080 that doesn't turn on. I pulled a bonehead move when I (this is / was my setup) - Guitar plugged into Wah then Overdrive then Distortion and then a Boss DD2-Delay with 2 outputs, one for "direct out" which went to a Peavey Deuce and then the "out" to the Valvestate 8080). It worked for a bit until I used the delay a couple of times. It then went dead and that's it. No lights / power etc. Tried different power cable and verified well known working wall plug. I'm new to amps but I'm assuming that the fuse would be the first thing to look for from what I've seen on the posts. What would be the next step or two if the fuse is ok?

2. Wilder Amplification

Wilder Amplification New Member

By running from the "out" of the Peavey Deuce, are you referring to the speaker out? If so...one can only imagine the world of hurt your 8080 endured. In that case, step 2 would be to take it to a tech.

3. steverez

steverez New Member

Hi,

Nope, the last pedal in the chain was my Boss Delay. The delay has 2 outputs.

One output is a "direct out" which went to the peavey deuce. There would be no "delay" effect on the Peavey amp. It's a clean signal.

The other output is just "out" which would give you the delay effect. That was plugged directly into the Marshall.

So, 1 delay pedal, 2 outputs. 2 seperate cords, 2 amps.

Thanks

4. Grandturk

Grandturk New Member

It doesn't seem like that would blow up your amp. All you did was plug in some pedals.

5. steverez

steverez New Member

Any idea what could've happened? I believe the amp has 1 tube / valve. Is there a fuse in these amps? Does it look like a regular fuse? Any help would be appreciated.

6. Wilder Amplification

The Deuce is a "reverse hybrid" amp, meaning it has a solid state preamp section with a valve power amp section. There should be 4 valves in it.