Marshall Jubilee 2555 - no sound

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by superdrag81, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. superdrag81

    superdrag81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Hi all

    Long time reader first time poster.

    I recently had my Marshall Jubilee 2555 amp serviced and got tubes replaced by my local tech. Today when i went to turn it on, i get no sound. I checked all tubes, all lit up - and i even put in the old tubes to make sure nothing was blown.

    I only had a spare HT fuse so i tested that and still nothing. I'm still trying to find a place locally that sells 4A 250v fuses for the main fuse.

    The weird part is that if i crank the master output past 7 i can start to hear the amp very slightly.

    Any advice??
     
  2. Marshallhead

    Marshallhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    487
    Put a short lead into the effects send and return sockets and see if it works. These amps are known for the fx sockets to get dry or dirty and cause no sound. It that cures it then you can do a permanent fix if you whip the chassis out and use contact cleaner on the switch connections of the fx loop sockets.

    Notes!

    Leave the amp alone if you don't know how to work safely inside an amp by discharging the capacitors first
    Just using contact cleaner on the sockets from the outside by spraying it on a jack plug will nit normally cure the problem
     
  3. Sir Don

    Sir Don Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Connect a speaker? Seriously, if you only recently got it back from the tech take it back to him, something seems horribly wrong here.
     
    redscott131 likes this.
  4. jcmjmp

    jcmjmp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,104
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    Location:
    Canada
    +1. This is a common problem. Try it and get back to us.
     
  5. Robosoft

    Robosoft New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue and for months i had a cable pluged into the loop.

    Now that dosn't fix the problem.

    If you put the amp on max you here low sound out of the speakers and the DI

    All tubes lit and replacing them with new same issue.

    i have shorted the send return internally and same.

    could it be the pots on the front and the Gain does nothing??

    all caps have 300-500v
     

Share This Page