Looking For The Ultimate Marshall Amp (80's Style)

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by jchrisf, Oct 4, 2019.

1. jchrisf

jchrisf Well-Known Member

So I'm about ready to buy the ultimate 80's hard rock and metal amp.. something that will be with me the rest of my life. I've been researching for a couple of years. I'm ready to go Boutique if need be. When the new Marshall Studio amps came out I thought this would be the perfect opportunity because I am a bedroom/home office player. The Studio amps sound amazing as do all the other expensive Marshall boutique amps.

I've not had a chance to try any though because there are not any in stock anywhere. However, from the Youtube videos I have seen (hundreds of them) it seems the DSL hangs with all of them. I had the DSL20H but didn't like it because it was missing my favorite two channels.

For those of you that have the DSL 40 or 50 or 100 and a nice Studio and/or Boutique amp.. does the DSL hang with it?

From the videos I've seen of people with both they were able to match everything with the DSL.

2. MarshallDog

MarshallDog Well-Known Member Premium Member

I think the DSL might be a good match seeing as you play 80's hard rock and metal. If you were looking for vintage tone or maybe an amp that can do blues, I would say no. Just be ware that most of the time the tone you hear on YouTube is NOT what you get in person. Good luck!

Neil Skene, JBA, scozz and 4 others like this.
  3. Mitchell Pearrow

Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

I get 80’s hard rock tones out of it and further back in time to Lizzy, UFO, Aerosmith, just have to watch the gain!
    Cheers Mitch

Trelwheen, Crikey, Neil Skene and 4 others like this.
  4. WellBurnTheSky

WellBurnTheSky Well-Known Member