JVM Starter Pack?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by newfiesig, Feb 24, 2020.

1. newfiesig

newfiesig Active Member

I have read a lot about mods for the JVM and tips on how to make it sound "better" (better is subjective, but for the sake of argument, let's say more raw like a 2203) such as putting an EQ in the loop and boosting the upper mids.

What would you say are the most common/popular things done to make the JVM sound better in general (including mods/settings/pedals)? Are there any easy mods that can be performed by those not overly comfortable with taking a soldering iron to their amp?

Hopefully this stems some good discussions!

2. Jethro Rocker

Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member Premium Member

I've only done the neg fedback mod and it does indeed open up the mids to sound more like a single channel 800. I used a 250k pot so it is variable. Can't see doing anything else to it. I am no rocket scientist, it's pretty easy.

3. newfiesig

newfiesig Active Member

Is there a tutorial you'd recommend on how to do it?

4. MonstersOfTheMidway

MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

1) How long have you owned your JVM?
    2) What sound quality do you want from a mod of the JVM?

Regarding mods, I'm not sure if you're looking for something specific, if you are simply inspired by what others are saying/posting online, or something else that's motivating you. You seem to like the 2203 sound (I'm assuming JCM 800 2203), so I'm not quite sure of the details behind your decision to buy a JVM over a JCM800 2203.:shrug:

Other than tone and mods, here are a few things to consider (but not "must haves"):

1) A good noise gate/noise suppressor (perhaps a programmable noise gate/noise suppressor with MIDI input/output ports).
    2) A good MIDI-footcontroller (but make sure it does not solely run on phatom power because JVM does not supply power to MIDI foot controllers via phantom power). MIDI-footcontroller more related to function than tone.