JVM Power Switch

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by RickyLee, Nov 3, 2019.

  1. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    Anyone here have any problems with one yet? Seems mine is on its way out already. The last few times I powered up, there was a huge delay in time before it turned on. Flipped the rocker switch back forth a few times and it got better only to act up again today.

    I have not peeked inside yet, but wondering if anyone has purchased/sourced one online yet?
     
  2. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    14,833
    Likes Received:
    8,695
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Is it the power that's delayed or just the pilot light?
    Can you post a picture of the switch?
    Can you measure the cut-out in the chassis and post the hole dimensions?
    Can you call K-Dog and ask him the factory part number for the switch?
    Kevin (Kdog) Drury
    Marshall USA Service
    1000 Corporate Grove Dr.
    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
    800-877-6863
    kevin.drury@USMusicCorp.com

    If we have the cut-out size, we can probably come up with a switch that doesn't wear out so quickly. Just an idea compared to using another factory style switch.
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway likes this.
  3. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    New York
    I've noticed the exact issue with my JVM 210H. It takes about 4 seconds before the switch lights up. Otherwise, it sounds great.
     
  4. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    It lights up. There is just a glitch or delay in the changing states or turning on. Sometimes many seconds. I had tried getting some cleaner inside from the back but am not sure if it got in there. Have not had time to mess with it lately.


    Last time I played it it came on normal right away. But it was sometimes not coming on until I went back and forth on the switch. Then other times few seconds of delay.
     
  5. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,197
    Likes Received:
    10,297
    Location:
    US of A
    It is a shame that Marshall did not figure the POWER switch and AC input were important enough to place on the schematics.

    How is the POWER switch implemented, any other stuff connected to it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2019
  6. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19,799
    Likes Received:
    19,972
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  7. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    New York
    Just to add a little more details, when I turn on my amp, none of the other lights (channel light, reverb, etc.) turns on until the power rocker switch turns on. But, it's very consistent, meaning it consistently waits about 4-5 seconds before turning on. That's why I'm not so sure if it's just a defective rocker switch. If the rest of the amp turned on, and just the rocker switch wasn't, then I'd think it was just the switch.
     
  8. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    New York
    Dogs of Doom likes this.
  9. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,197
    Likes Received:
    10,297
    Location:
    US of A
    They look the same in the ad. Why the different pricing? :agreed:
     
  10. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19,799
    Likes Received:
    19,972
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    appears to be a sale promotion...

    same mfg part #

     
    mickeydg5 likes this.
  11. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,197
    Likes Received:
    10,297
    Location:
    US of A
    Well hopefully the buyer gets the sale price not matter although because I believe that "-WS" will through it off and some will get screwed.
     
  12. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19,799
    Likes Received:
    19,972
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I think the ws is the sale code... :shrug:

    upload_2019-11-11_9-26-31.png
     
  13. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,197
    Likes Received:
    10,297
    Location:
    US of A
    Yes I got that but my point is if a buyer does not see the sale ad and picks the regular one, puts it in the shopping cart, then that person gets jacked for 34%.

    A person has to go search for a sale. Bogus!

    Like such:


    upload_2019-11-11_14-5-34.png
     
  14. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    I will see if I can get a look at the innards of the JVM this evening. I have switched gears lately as I have some guitars pulled out, going through them fine tuning them and then a few unfinished project guitars as well. Then I just pulled an old early 80's Kahler 2300 stud mount trem off a recent guitar I got. I am oiling, cleaning the trem system then putting it back on this guitar I recently got. This is my first experience with a Kahler. The guitar was not staying in tune very well for having this system as well as the lock nut. I think part of the issue was the bone nut that is on here. The lock nut is between the bone nut and the tuners. So I am thinking the nut is sticking, possible adjusts on the trem itself. So will see how that goes.

    I think you have your thinking opposite there. That power switch controls ALL power in the amp. If you had main power coming on but then no heaters, or relay power ect, then you would have an issue away from the main power switch.

    I am going to make another attempt to see if i can get some cleaner inside mine. If still a problem, I will order a few from that link of above. Thanks to DoD for posting that.
     
  15. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    I should add, I had been leaving that amp switch o and then using a power strip switch to power on amp. Amp was coming on instantly that way.
     
  16. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    New York
    Replacing the power switch solved the problem. @Dogs of Doom thank you for the link!
     
    RickyLee and Dogs of Doom like this.
  17. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    So those cheaper ones in the link above were match on the JVM?
     
  18. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19,799
    Likes Received:
    19,972
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yeah, they are for the JVM...
     
    Jon C likes this.
  19. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    New York
    I bought the cheaper one. It looks identical to the one that was in my amp. It is simply plug and play, with no soldering involved.
     
    Dogs of Doom likes this.
  20. RickyLee

    RickyLee Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    3,102
    Location:
    Riverside CA U.S.A.
    Well, lesson learned for me. I was playing a gig this past Monday (December 16 2109) with the remaining members of my old cover band from the good old days, The Klones, when my JVM 410H lost power mid song. This was not just any gig I should add . . . . we were playing at the Celebration of Life memorial for one of my best and long time friends, Tim. He was the bass player in our band for well over 20 years. He passed way too soon and well short of any standard of a long life. But I should add that he lived life to the fullest and was a great human being and he is badly missed by his family and many many friends.

    Anyway, yeah, I had lollygagged around not changing that switch out man. We took a short break and I opened up the amp and bypassed that POS power switch and we Rocked on hard for a few more hours in memory of my buddy . . . .

    Yeah, I just placed an order for two of those switches just a few minutes ago. Dam that River, over $7 to ship two of them.

     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2019

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice