Jvm 205H footswitch ???

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by rrguitar1, Jan 22, 2020.

  1. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    It died on me, just stopped working.
    Does anyone know which model to get for a replacement?
    Also, can I get a 6 button one?
    I saw the 6 button model but it keeps referring to the Jvm4 as one of the compatible models ot works with.

    Thanks !!!!
     
  2. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    New York
    Yes, you can use the 6 button one with the 2. I do, and it is a must if you gig.
     
  3. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Awesome! Thank you for the info.
    I wasn't sure if the 6 button would work with the 205h.

    I'll pick one up.
    Btw...is there a reason why the stock F/S would just stop working like that?
     
  4. pedecamp

    pedecamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14,517
    Likes Received:
    11,452
    I would try doing a factory reset of it. Try a different cable first.
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway likes this.
  5. Trumpet Rider

    Trumpet Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    3,050
    Just what I was going to say. A regular guitar cable will work.
     
  6. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Will try
     
  7. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Nothing. Tried a cable that I use all the time.
    Did a factory reset too. Hold down clean mode button and power on right?
    Both channels illuminated red. Then I pushed cleam/crunch mode again to confirm.
    Same thing. No life in F/S

    I bet it's a simple fix inside. Burnt cap or something? But why? The amp doesn't even get used alot. Jammed lived with it once.
    Had it for maybe 2 years tops.
     
  8. MonstersOfTheMidway

    MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    Hello.
    There are two things you can do to see if you can bring back the footswitch to normal operating functions:
    1) reset the head to factory settings (which I think you said you already performed)
    2) reset the footswitch to factory settings

    The following instructions are taken directly from the JVM2 manual for resetting the head and resetting the footswitch to factory settings (I'm going to put the manual instructions in green font color to avoid confusion).

    Steps for resetting the head to factory settings:
    Factory Reset
    This will erase all the MIDI presets and set MIDI reception channel to #1. Please note that once
    the memory is erased it cannot be recovered.


    A) Switch the amplifier off (power switch off, not standby switch).

    B) Press and hold CLEAN/CRUNCH CHANNEL switch.

    C) Switch the amplifier on (power switch on, not standby switch).
    The 2 channel LEDs will glow red.

    D) Release the switch.


    Steps for resetting the footswitch to factory settings:
    Footswitch Reset:
    It is possible to reset the footswitch to the factory default status. This is achieved as
    follows:


    A) Unplug the footswitch at any of the cable sides.

    B) Press and hold the switch #4 (right switch).

    C) Plug in the footswitch cord.

    D) Release the switch and the FX led will start
    blinking.


    E) If you want to erase the footswitch memory press the switch #3. To keep the memory press either the #1 or #2 switch. Please note that once the memory is erased it cannot be recovered.

    F) Release the switch and the footswitch will synchronise with the amplifier.


    The factory default is as follows:
    FSW #1: Clean/Crunch Mode
    FSW #2: Overdrive Mode
    FSW #3: Master
    FSW #4: Reverb


    Some additional notes on the footswitch include "hot swapping." The following is from the manual:
    The footswitch can be hot-swapped and synchronises itself with the amplifier after connection. However it is recommended to connect the footswitch lead to the footswitch side first and then connect it to the amplifier.

    Resetting the head and footswitch to factory settings might help synchronize both devices. Not sure if either reset will help your particular case, but it has helped others in the past. If you do the fact footswitch reset, I recommend erasing the footswitch memory so that you start over as "cleanly" as possible in hopes of weeding out whatever went wrong (besides, getting the footswitch back to the way you had it doesn't take much time and effort in my experience).

    Good luck with your gear. Let us know if anything makes a difference in your favor.
     
    marshalltsl likes this.
  9. LPMarshall hack

    LPMarshall hack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    9,921
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So if you were to set the foot switch back to the default settings...

    The manual lists switch #1 is the clean/crunch channel. If you kept pressing switch #1, will it toggle thru the three modes in the clean/crunch channel?
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway likes this.
  10. Trumpet Rider

    Trumpet Rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,817
    Likes Received:
    3,050
    Yes, that is correct. Switch #2 toggles among the three modes in the dirty channel. Switches 3 and 4 turn reverb and effects loop on and off.

    I have my pedal set up with the four modes that I use most often. I can see where a 6 switch pedal would give more options with the 2 channel amp.
     
    LPMarshall hack likes this.
  11. MonstersOfTheMidway

    MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    You are correct.

    Whenever you do a complete factory reset of the footswitch, switch #1 and switch #2 are programmed in "switch store" mode. Switch #1 will toggle green mode, orange mode, and red mode for "Clean/Crunch" channel; switch #1 will toggle green mode, orange mode, and red mode for the "Overdrive" channel; switch #3 toggles master volume 1 or 2; switch #4 toggles reverb on/off.

    Switch store mode is default mode for all switches because the switches on the footswitch operate like the switches on the front panel of the amp (except for the "footswitch/MIDI program" front panel switch because that switch is not programmable). Later, users can decide if they want to keep the footswitch in switch store mode, preset store mode, or a combination/mix and match of switch store mode and preset store mode.

    As you can see, the footswitch really is an incredible design and why I always say to potential JVM buyers you should expect the footswitch be included in the deal not only because the footswitch came with the amp from the factory, but because it really is a bad ass little piece of gear!
     
    LPMarshall hack likes this.
  12. JLBIII

    JLBIII Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    381
    In case you want to get a new foot switch, this is what I found when I was looking at getting the 6 position foot switch for my 205H.
    Here's the newer 6 position foot switch that works with the JVM 205 & 210:part # PEDL91005

    It's my understanding that the older PEDL00044 will not work with the 205 & 210.
     
  13. LPMarshall hack

    LPMarshall hack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    9,921
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I thought any JVM six button switch would work with the JVM2.


    Does anyone know if this is true? That the older pedal will NOT work on the JVM2?
     
  14. marshalltsl

    marshalltsl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Catalonia
    I don't know if this is true. I think a JVM HJS footswith it's not compatible with other JVM' amps. Do any one confirm?
     
  15. LPMarshall hack

    LPMarshall hack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    9,921
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I’ve been perusing the JVM forum and it appears any six button will work with the JVM2. Not sure about the HJS tho...
     
  16. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Thank you very much for the F/S reset instructions. I will try in the morning and report back. That would be great if it actually worked!
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway likes this.
  17. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    New York
    Any JVM 6 button switch will work on the 2. I've not tried the HJS one, so I can't comment on that.
     
  18. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Resetting the F/S didnt work.
    Bummed.
     
  19. MonstersOfTheMidway

    MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    2,662
    Did you also try resetting the head?

    Resetting the head might help the head synchronize with the footswitch; it's worth a try and won't cost you any thing other than a little time and effort. Instructions for resetting the head are posted by me in this thread above, or you can download the free owner's manual/handbook which explains the same process.
     
    rrguitar1 likes this.
  20. rrguitar1

    rrguitar1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    167
    Yes. I read your post and attempted to reset the head on Friday. Unfortunately nothing.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice