JMP Lead 50 Watt 1975 w/Big M Cabinet

Discussion in 'Member Classifieds' started by fretted friend, Dec 16, 2019.

1. fretted friend

fretted friend New Member

IMG_3262.jpeg Hello everyone! I am new to Marshall Forums. I owned a music store for over 30 years specialized in high-end acoustics, now retired. I did sell amps, lots of them including Marshall in the early 2000's. But truth is, I know very little about this Marshall history etc. Thank goodness for this Forum!

I recently bought an estate with guitars and amps. One in particular is a 1975 MK2 50watt Lead with a "Big M" cabinet (sides are straight, grill is slanted and loaded with 4x12" Rola speakers. Both head and cab are single-owner and extraordinary clean, near mint IMO.

My question is, the amp has a master volume knob on the back of the head. Was this a stock feature? I can't find any images of the same. Please advise. I may be posting this rig for sale in the near future. Thank you in advance for any and all information to help me identify and hopefully come up with a price so I can place it on the Classified Forum.

Your fretted friend,
    Michael IMG_3262.jpeg

DaDoc, Sapient, ibmorjamn and 2 others like this.
  2. DaDoc

DaDoc Well-Known Member

No, they didn't..But that is a common modification on amps from that era. It's a fairly easy mod to return to stock by a competent tech, but it leaves a hole in the back of the amp, which will lower the value over one that has never been modded. Hope this helps!

By the way, that's a really nice looking '75..Amps from that era don't often look that clean..Most cool! :cool:

Last edited: Dec 16, 2019
  3. fretted friend

Thank you

4. tce63

tce63 Well-Known Member Premium Member

AS @DaDoc says, NO

Just like to say :welcome: to the forum, a great place

5. fretted friend

Here’s a pic of the back panel

Attached Files:

tce63 likes this.
  6. fretted friend

Thank you! This is why I spent the last thirty years in this business, the people