JCM2000 DSL100 crackle at startup and other issue

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by James Morris, Dec 11, 2019.

1. James Morris

James Morris New Member

Howdy fellas... newbie here.. I have a DSL100 on the bench, it's a 1998 but I think the tube board has been replaced sometime in the past. Its an Issue7 board with the resistors in place of two LDRs. ]The amp has a nasty crackle when turned on out of standby - it stops after a short time. I am thinking the first filter caps could be the problem. Any other advice would be welcome.

The other issue is with the Classic Gain channel - the clean setting has very low volume compared to the crunch setting. I would be surprised if this is normal. Pretty tough to follow the schematic. but I guess it is either a relay, LDR or transistor that could be malfunctioning.

I have recently replaced the power tubes with a fresh matched quad. The bias is working as it should although I think I will oreder up some 56k grid stoppers and replace the carbon film bias 220K resistors with 1% metal film r's. I had it idling for over an hour and it didn't drift but still going to replace them.

The power tube sockets are in good condition and snug. The amp is pretty clean otherwise with only a pot and a couple of resistors haveing been replaced.. The resistors that were replaced are R55 and R56 on the 60-00 tube board..

thanks

2. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

"I am thinking the first filter caps could be the problem."

Yes it is true that sometimes rarely the first filter cap will cause a crackle.
    Try cleaning the sockets first. You can use lubricated non conductive cleaners. (such as LPS-1 Deoxit G-100 etc...)
    Second swap the tubes out with good ones one at a time. You don't need a whole set of tubes to do this. Retest each time you swap one out (when the amp is cold).
    Monitor the one side of a de- coupling cap for DC leakage after the amp is cold and the power first turns on.