JCM 900 reliability issues?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by seeker88, Feb 21, 2015.

1. seeker88

seeker88 New Member

Ok, I hate rumors!

Again I heard someone saying the JCM 900 series are known to be the most unreliable Marshall ever made. They shut down on gigs, are always in the shop, a nightmare to work on, etc.. On the flip side I hear the complete opposite, most requested backline of the major acts. road worthy, proven work horse's, etc.. So I'm confused. What is it?

I'm really not interested in their tone (good or bad), diodes/solid state guts. Or they are "not as good" as an 800. I would like to hear real life, true stories of people who have owned these amps, kept basic maintenance on them, used them on a regular basis and found them to be totally unreliable for the gigging musician/weekend warrior player.

2. iron broadsword

iron broadsword Well-Known Member

I've been running mine hard for something like 3 years now without issue whatsoever... Just new tubes once in a while. Historically they are very reliable. "Nightmare to work on" - techs complaining that it's not ptp.

3. Blacque Jacque

Blacque Jacque Well-Known Member

I have owned two 900's.

First was a Mk.III which I bought when it was a year old. I gigged it for nearly 10 years as well as rehearsals & home use for longer. Apart from one, yes ONE new set of tubes & biasing it had no maintenance during that time. In all that time it never once let me down or even glitched.

I currently own an SL-X which had the heater rectifier repaired by Marshall prior to me owning it. I gigged it regularly for four years, plus rehearsals. Apart from a bias check it has had no maintenance & has been 100% reliable.

My gear is treated with respect, it doesn't get thrown in the back of a van of left in damp sheds / garages.

Sorry, I cannot offer you any tales of unreliability.

4. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member