JCM 900 FX Return Broken

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Ryan Morris, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    I have a JCM 900 4100 and the FX return is not working. I can get a signal out of the send just fine, but if i try to put any signal into the FX return, I get nothing. If I bridge the send and return with a patch cable, when I crank the master volume I get a very low volume, oversaturated signal coming through.

    Things I've checked:
    all tubes work fine
    jacks aren't corroded or broken
    the FX jacks and the FX pot are soldered fine
    the FX pot works (I checked with an ohmmeter)

    If I have a patch cable bridging the FX loop, there is no signal or even any voltage drop between the tip and sleeve connecters of the return jack at all.

    Does anyone have any tips for troubleshooting, or what could be the cause of the problem?
     
  2. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    Make sure the "Level" control is set to zero for pedals, middle (5) if jumping & right (8-10) for racks.

    Do you get a signal from guitar straight into FX Return?
     
  3. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Check and see if IC 7 is getting hot.
    Is IC 7 in a socket?
    Check Pin 8 of IC7 to verify +15 volts DC.
    Check pin 4 of IC7 to verify minus 15 volts DC.
    The schematic is here I think...
    https://drtube.com/schematics/marshall/cd0189-iss7-0349.pdf
     
  4. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried going straight into the return, no sound
     
  5. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    Oh, btw.........check all cables for continuity where applicable.

    :hmm:
     
  6. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1

    IC7 is fine, voltages are good
     
  7. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    Also check the pots with your Ohm meter. They should fluctuate while turning the dials.

    :hmm:
     
  8. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have, all the pots are good
     
    Lance Chambers likes this.
  9. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Oh sorry shit I was wrong. :wallbash:
    IC 7 is the reverb not effects.

    Reverb return is IC5 a TLO72 op amp.
    Is IC 5 getting hot?
    Is it in a socket? :lol:
    Pin 8 is +15 volts DC
    Pin 4 is minus 15 volts DC.
     
  10. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just checked all the IC's, they're all getting the right voltages. None of them are in sockets, they're all soldered on.
     
  11. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Replace V2 preamp tube.
    Check V2 R16 should be 2K2.
    Check V2 R3 should be 100K.
     
  12. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Check IC5 pin 1 for DC voltage. Should be 0 volts or close to it...
     
  13. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    R16 and R3 are fine, I'v already tried swapping V2.

    I'm currently not getting any signal at Rd, which is what sends the return signal from the FX PCB to the PCB with the valves, so I'm assuming that the problem is occurring at the return circuit BEFORE it gets sent over to the main PCB, right?
     
  14. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Is there signal on pin 1 of IC5?
    Is there DC on pin one of IC 5?
    This is the TLO72 op amp.
     
  15. Ryan Morris

    Ryan Morris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    IC5 pin 1 has about 10mV

    R2 on the FX board I'm reading as a short (it's labled as 3.3k)! Is that supposed to happen, or is that indicative of a bad resistor? I can't measure the true impedance without taking it off the board
     
  16. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Resistors can't short.
    It's the other components in the circuit that is giving a short reading.
     
  17. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,431
    Likes Received:
    9,299
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Go ahead and replace IC5. Put a socket on the board.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice