I'm New To Tube Rolling :) Dsl40cr

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by cspencer, Aug 19, 2018.

1. cspencer

cspencer Active Member

Hello,

I bought a new DSL40CR and am new to tube-rolling. I bought some tubes to replace the Marshall tubes.

Here's what I have:
    V1. Genalex - Gold Lion ECC83 / B759
    V2. Mullard 12AX7 ECC83 Reissue
    V3. Mullard 12AX7 CV4004 Reissue
    V4. Genalex - Gold Lion ECC83 / B759

thinking of experimenting this:
    V2. Genalex - Gold Lion ECC83 / B759
    V3. Mullard 12AX7 CV4004 Reissue
    V4. Mullard 12AX7 ECC83 Reissue

or:
    V2. Genalex - Gold Lion ECC83 / B759
    V3. Mullard 12AX7 ECC83 Reissue
    V4. Mullard 12AX7 CV4004 Reissue

Any comments/suggestion appreciated.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
  2. tschrama

tschrama Well-Known Member

dont do it

johan.b likes this.
  3. cspencer

cspencer Active Member

Why?

4. tschrama

tschrama Well-Known Member

NOS, premium priced, gold plated, balanced etc etc tubes dont sound better.

Tubes just have slight variations in their pinch-off voltage and transductance. Just like caps have 10% tolleranceses. Resistors 5%, electrolytics 20% etc.

Its a waste of effort money. Your ears will fool you.

A 2 cent resistor makes far more differ3nces than a different tube.

matttornado and cspencer like this.
  5. MarshallDog

MarshallDog Well-Known Member

Pre amp tube changes will make a big difference in tone, compreesion and gain just like speakers do. I can usually tell a difference in tone when I roll power tubes but their effect is a bit less. The best thing you can do is just try them and see if you like, everyones idea of the perfect tone is different.

cspencer likes this.
  6. cspencer

cspencer Active Member