If you love your guitars avoid Schaller Straplocks

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by GuitarIV, Aug 14, 2019.

1. GuitarIV

GuitarIV Well-Known Member

Years ago when I started playing guitar I got some Schaller Security Straplocks for my Custom Strat. One day one of them failed me and almost sent my guitar hurling to the floor, thankfully I caught her in time.

I switched to Dunlop Security Straplocks after that.

I got a new ESP Eclipse a year ago that came with Schallers and didn't bother to switch em out. Today one of them came undone again and sent my guitar hurling to the floor. Again thankfully, when it comes to my guitars, I have good reflexes.

The hex screw part that is supposed to secure the bit that locks onto the pin to the strap undoes itself after a certain while and everything comes lose.

Bad design flaw Schaller. Shame on you.

Just a little headsup. I don't do any crazy stunts or guitar flips. I just know that the Schallers on my ESP are getting replaced by Dunlops asap.

Take care of your guitars.

Cheers.

Mitchell Pearrow and Boxtrot56 like this.
  2. Melodyman

Melodyman Member

Never liked em either. I replaced the stock Gibson strap buttons with the larger stock Fender P bass ones. Have never had the strap come off yet. Sure it would work for a Strat..

Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  3. anitoli

anitoli Well-Known Member

Apply a small amount of Loctite Blue 242 to the threads and under normal use it will never come apart, but if needed you can separate the parts in the future.

4. Kutt

Kutt Well-Known Member

I too prefer Dunlop Strap Loks, but you gotta hit them with a dash of 3-in-1 about twice a year or so also.

5. Micky

Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

Never, ever had a problem in decades.
    If you know how to put them on properly, they work forever.

6. MarshallDog

MarshallDog Well-Known Member Premium Member