Ibanez Js100, Early 90s, Mods - Help Required

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Shreddy Krueger, Feb 18, 2019.

1. Shreddy Krueger

Shreddy Krueger Active Member

A curious situation I'm finding myself in at the minute. I've been playing Suhr guitars for quite a few years now, recently I've played around with (though not owned) a couple of the new custom shop SGs and LPs, which were fantastic, however, an old acquaintance came back into my possession the other week, and I'm divided over which way to go with it.

I owned this guitar for a brief spell in the late 90s. It's always been in the family since new. It has had the pickups upgraded to Fred/PAF Pros, bridge and trem upgraded, brass block, high pass filter on a refitted volume pot, fret work, etc. I like the feel, the neck works for me, but the guitar, surprisingly, comes across as being very dull and 'vintage', which really took me by surprise. In fact, I'd say that it compares to an SG in that respect. It's quite dark sounding, and the volume rolls off in a way which sucks the body out of the sound -- no nice Hendrix-esque tones here when you roll off, just a flubby muddy dilution of the sound.

I did wonder if the replacement pot and wiring had been fudged -- something outside of my realms of experience (I just play 'em) -- but after taking the back panel off the pot is unmarked, so that doesn't really help. The tone pot is 500k. My first instinct was that the volume pot was 250k.

Any thoughts, musings, ideas -- feel free! :yesway:

stringtree likes this.
  2. stringtree

stringtree Well-Known Member

Any pics of the control cavity...

I've owned the JS 100, fantastic guitar. Had the frets done to 6105 and his name removed from the 21st fret. I had the tone zone pickup in the bridge and it sounded just fine. Great playing and sounding guitar.

Couldn't say what actually is causing it to sound the way it does for you...
    I'm sure there are those here that know such matters..:dude: