How to package ship an amp

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by mike mike, May 18, 2011.

1. mike mike

mike mike Well-Known Member

I need to properly package and ship 4x12 to Pittsburgh, PA from california. i have no experience in this field. can anyone give advice on packaging it properly, and how much they think it will cost to ship that far? thanks!

2. MM54

MM54 New Member

That's like an hour from here, you should just use the teleporter to send it to me and I'll drive it down.

Nah, generally I think your biggest problem is going to be finding a box big enough to put it in. From there, lots of packing on all sides is key, especially with a heavy package like a cab.

3. diesect20022000

diesect20022000 Well-Known Member VIP Member

Yeah it's basicaly huge box with a good 6 in around internally for packing then use foam,bubble wrap etc especialy on face,back and corners. I'd even go so far as to put a panel over the speakers/front then cosey it in with foam or bubble wrap to keep the speakers safe.

4. eljeffebrown

eljeffebrown New Member

Banding, Snorkeling, High Speed Line Skipping, Boo
    Go to your local music store and ask them for the packaging from one of their cabs or a box that a cab might fit into, they are alway dealing with boxes that size.

5. diesect20022000

diesect20022000 Well-Known Member VIP Member

Nice common sense answer! i have to remember that!

6. fretfire6

fretfire6 New Member

I agree with the suggestion to go to your local music store for a box. I've done this in the past and it's saved me financially and headache-wise. I know from personal experience that if it's not packaged correctly, the insurance claim won't be paid by UPS, if that's who you use. I learned the hard way. And it was a Splawn modified Marshall Plexi. And I'm still bitter about it.

Also, furniture stores might carry boxes and packing material that could help you. Good Luck!

7. Buggs.Crosby

Buggs.Crosby New Member

Jeffe said it best

8. Clammy