How To Choose A Cabinet For Low Volume Playing?

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Roudan, May 19, 2017 at 11:41 PM.

1. Roudan

Roudan New Member

Hi

I am new to cabinet and speaker. I have a new DSL1c for bedroom playing. I am thinking to buy a 112 Cab. I have few questions.

1. Which cab do I get, open or closed back? I play both rock and blues.
    2. Does cab size matter? Is bigger size better than smaller size? How is this one?

https://www.amazon.ca/Seismic-Audio...id=1495251410&sr=8-15&keywords=guitar+cabinet

3. What speaker match DSL1 better? Celestion Vintage 30 or Eminence Cannabis Rex?

https://www.amazon.ca/Eminence-CANN...5251589&sr=8-1&keywords=Eminence+Cannabis+Rex

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

2. ricksconnected

ricksconnected Well-Known Member

why do you want a cab for such a small amp? curious.

Roudan likes this.
  3. ricksconnected

I would never pay $250 for a empty cab. EVER.

Roudan likes this.
  4. Roudan

Roudan New Member

Is 12 inch speaker better than 8 inch? Thx

5. ricksconnected

to me, yes. the sound is fuller to me ears.
    some folks like a 10 inch speaker though.

Roudan likes this.
  6. mickeydg5

mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

1 watt can be very loud. A nice 1x12 closed back can compliment a lil 1x8 combo nicely.

I say yes to the choice.

You may want to try a Maverick 16 which has a nice response and can be adjusted to match the output of the 8 inch internal speaker if it stays connected.

ricksconnected and Roudan like this.
  7. BowerR64

BowerR64 Well-Known Member

What i think i hear is open back sounds better then closed back at low volumes. At higher volumes the open back tends to let the speaker move to much then it starts to sound flubby which is a sound i dont like.

Ive tried the same speaker in a smaller enclosure and a larger one and the larger one sounds better even though its open back.