How do you setup 2 amps together?

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by dinkyguitar, Nov 17, 2019.

  1. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hi All,

    I've read about setting up 2 amps and I have a Boss Chorus & Reverb pedal.

    I see they have dual outputs, but from the articles I've read they say to plug into the input of each pedal, then use the outputs to each amp.

    Well, that's great and all but the articles don't cover the fact that these pedals go into the FX loop and plugging them into the front on my 5150 and 6505+ combo sound like $hit for lack of better terms.

    Do I have to run multiple cables into the FX loops of each amp?

    Or is there a better way of using these 2 pedals in the FX loop of both amps?

    dinky
     
  2. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    Zakk Wylde stated he pushes two amps with a stereo chorus straight in the front. Guitar World interview done many moons ago.:shred:
     
    El Gringo and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  3. paul hancher

    paul hancher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    475
    if your pedal has stereo inputs then yes you would have to run sends and returns for both amps to run thru the loops, which would also necessitate running a y-cord from your guitar to each amp input. i do not know of any other way of doing it.

    also are you aware that to run two amps together both amps must be in phase electrically and acoustically (speaker phase) for best results. if both amps are modern with 3 phase plugs electrical phase should not be a problem but you usually have to physically confirm that the speakers are in phase.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2019
    Lance Chambers and tce63 like this.
  4. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    BTW! If you're mixing amps (different brands) be sure to ground lift one of them.
     
    WellBurnTheSky likes this.
  5. dinkyguitar

    dinkyguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    33
    He's actually the one who gave me the idea since I'm starting to play some of his work again....

    And I saw his setup and got the chorus pedal for that reason, among other things. Haven't tried running through the chorus yet.

    But since I added a 5150 to my collection, I figured I'd try a 2 amp setup, pairing it either with the 6505+ combo, or EVH 5150 III.

    I did read about the speaker phase as well as the ground loop...but so far the ground loop isn't an issue, and flipping the ground lift on the 6505+ combo doesn't have any effect and I'm not getting any unusual noises.

    I'm just learning how to set all this up, and again, since I have multiple amps, I'd figure I'd give it a try but had questions.

    dinky
     
  6. Trelwheen

    Trelwheen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Location:
    Texas
    I use a Radial Switchbone when using two amps. It has a lot of nice features including a phase switch.
     
  7. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    Location:
    England
    Assuming CHORUS>REVERB and chorus has only 1 input.
    Depends if you want to keep the individual tones of the 2 amps.
    If not, then in the loop will give you the option of which to slave to the other. Place the pedals in the loop of one amp and run the 2nd out from the reverb to the return of the slave.
    That is how I run a VS65R slaved to my DSL40CR.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  8. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    The Land That Time Forgot
    The Radial Bigshot AB/Y is another great option also.:cheers:
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2019
  9. mirrorman

    mirrorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    949
    Location:
    Canada
    A Radial Engineering Twinline is designed specifically to toggle one pedal board between the effects loops of two different amps.
    More info here: https://www.radialeng.com/product/twinline

    It might be what you're looking for.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  10. wakjob

    wakjob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    C-137
    This is the simplest and most affordable one I've used.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  11. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8,798
    Likes Received:
    13,419
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    In this clip I am running 3 amps.
    2 are the Origin 50H’s and a 3210
    Lead 100 mosfet.
    My means for doing so is an MXR10 band eq into the front of both Origin’s, they are connected to the A cabs, the mosfet is paired up with the 2 B cabs, to run the mosfet I am going fx send on the Origin with the white cab into the front instrument in on the mosfets clean channel.
     
    El Gringo likes this.
  12. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,255
    Likes Received:
    10,329
    Location:
    US of A
    I would think with all that distortion, 5150 and 6505+, at hand the chorus and reverb would be placed in the effects loop(s).
     
  13. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
    I use something different
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
    This is rig 1 15741849630374130371033776122109.jpg
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  15. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,255
    Likes Received:
    10,329
    Location:
    US of A
    That term is already used. I do not like it. :)


    [​IMG]
     
  16. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
    Rig 2 15741850844145837488600240159062.jpg
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  17. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
  18. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    23,255
    Likes Received:
    10,329
    Location:
    US of A
    @Rudy v , you got too many rigs. :D
     
  19. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
    Other but simple one 15741859384504256409153960280707.jpg
     
    El Gringo and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  20. Rudy v

    Rudy v Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    152
    Ore this one 15741861619607741938729027497371.jpg
     
    El Gringo and Mitchell Pearrow like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice