Help me on a 6100 LM ?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by The Dose of Harmony, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    Thank you Brother !
    This thing rocks!
     
  2. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,951
    Likes Received:
    6,662
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Possibly dirty sockets? In any case, what a great amp for that money!!
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  3. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    I can not believe it !!!!

    This amp just buried my Tsl ‘s and Jvm’s Holy shit!

    I just just put 7 new preamp tubes!

    This is a Killing machine !!
    Its running 6l6’s
    Should i put 5881’s?
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  4. Drinkingdeath01

    Drinkingdeath01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    483
    Location:
    Minneapolis Minnesota
    Congratulations on the new amp. I love my LM, its one of my favorite Marshalls.

    On another note, GC will pay to have it fixed by a local tech in the 45 day period. I bought an amp and had it shipped only to find it DOA. The amp in question hadn't been made in years so they considered it vintage. They took it, sent it off to the local amp guru and called me when it was done. Quick and easy.
     
  5. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    Hey guys i have teo questions

    It did not bring the foot switch

    Can I use the same as the Tsl ia 3 channel plus FX loop and reverb ?
    I only want to know if it works

    And i havent used the midi , i have nektar pacer that left it at my house the other but i dont even know how start to pair it?
     
  6. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,951
    Likes Received:
    6,662
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    No you can't. It has it's own. You can switch channels via midi but no idea which controller. Find the manual online about pairing. I know you hit the Store switch on the front.
     
  7. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    This shit its getting out of my hands!!!!
    too much too.jpg
     
  8. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    12,705
    Likes Received:
    6,585
    Location:
    Left Coast
    The post did not make it very clear. It somehow sounded like you bought it, in some ways.
     
  9. scozz

    scozz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    2,400
    I’m not the op!!!!!
     
  10. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    834
    No. At least not true 5881s. A true 5881 or a reissue of a true 5881 is not rated to handle the voltages. You want 6L6GC spec tubes. But back in the 90s the Sovtek 5881 labeled tube was actually a 6L6GC equivalent.
     
  11. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    12,705
    Likes Received:
    6,585
    Location:
    Left Coast
    "You want 6L6GC spec tubes."
    That's what 5881 is: a 6L6.
    Essentially 5881 and 6L6 is the very same tube (and still is).
    5881 can have a higher rating than 6L6 (and still does). In screen voltage and plate voltage...
    5881 is the military version of 6L6 which is built to withstand more shock and vibration than a normal 6L6GC, making 5881 more desirable for replacing normal consumer 6L6.
    You will see Marshall amps that came stock with 5881 for that reason probably.

    5881.png
     
    Lance Chambers likes this.
  12. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,198
    Likes Received:
    6,613
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    From experience the Sovtek 5881's sound fine and seem to be very durable and reliable and are affordable.
    I use them as well as other tubes.
     
  13. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    237
    We have a bad case of GAS...........:cheers:

    IMG_3950.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  14. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    237
    The oem foot-switch is a three button unit that has a 6-pin DIN plug connector. You will need an exact replacement for full functionality. However, you can use any 5-pin, three button unit for basic functionality. :coffee:
     
  15. Kinkless Tetrode

    Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    834
  16. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    Thanks man for the info!
     
  17. The Dose of Harmony

    The Dose of Harmony Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    233
    Whats the one bottom left?
    Two’s Tsl 100 ?
    Any mods differences?
    Have you try an 6100 Lm?
     
  18. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,951
    Likes Received:
    6,662
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Wait, what? You mean a 5 pin 3 button Midi? Cause the OEM footswitch which provides "full functionality" simply changes channels. So a 5 pin 3 button - I assume Midi? - would therefore do exactly the same thing.
     
    Lance Chambers likes this.
  19. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    237
    Bottom left? It's a 2018 DSL100HR (you see I'm jacked in):jam:

    Two TSL's? Yes..........top is a 2004 unit I bought new from GC in 2005. It came with the Issue 6 board but I upgraded it myself to the Issue 20 unit. It rocks! The lower unit is an original 2005 model (issue 6) that I bought used from Reverb. It rocks also.:band:

    6100LM? I was attempting to buy one off REVERB this past weekend but the seller tried to highball me on the price at the last minute so I passed on him. I will buy one some day. :drool:
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  20. Lance Chambers

    Lance Chambers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2019
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    237
    Jethro.........you have far more experience than me brother. I'm probably wrong (as I am most of the time) but I do know the oem pedal is a 6 pin connector. 6100footswitch.gif
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice