Haze 40 tube upgrade

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Ed K, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Ed K

    Ed K New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    For those who have replaced the stock tubes in the haze 40, which had a greater impact the preamp or the power tubes? I find the stock tubes to be muffled at higher volumes, especially the gain channel. Which tubes do you prefer an why?

    Ed
     
  2. Frankie

    Frankie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Both. The stock tubes in my Haze were awful! High gain Shuguang tubes in all 3 preamp slots and then some unbiasable Svetlana EL34's that'd randomly red plate. I replaced them with new production tubes, it's just a Haze, it can wait on vintage glass. I used:

    V1 & V3: Tung-Sol 12AX7
    V2: JJ Long Plate 12AX7
    Power: Groove-Tube EL34-M's (make sure it's the -M's if you go that route, the other EL34's GT sells don't sound so good)

    I think the whole she-bang cost me like $60-$70. Here's a clip in the gain channel, boost on, gain on 8, volume on 6. It's recorded with my cellphone, so pardon the quality a little, but it's certainly not muffled at high volume:

    http://www.cowboymafia.net/frankie/haze40.mp3

    Also, the Haze is notorious for having a little muff/woof in the boost channel. As soon as I can get this order in with mouser I'm going to mod mine to get rid of that. I'll report back here on the forum with my results.
     
  3. Frankie

    Frankie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Oh yeah, sounds like you're already on the way since you're asking questions about high volume, but break in that Marquee speaker. Mine didn't sound so hot when I first got it, but now that I've played a bunch of gigs with the Haze, that speaker is nice and settled in. IMO the internal speaker sounds even better than sticking it on a 4x12 now.
     
  4. Moose Lewis

    Moose Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    873
    Location:
    GARM Studio - Amherst, VA - USA
    They must have changed it up at some point. The pre's in my 2010 Haze 40 were JJ's... I forget what the power tubes were (tossed 'em). On a recommendation, I put JJ EL34L's in and the amp was sweet afterwards... the bottom was tighter too.

    I know I'm gonna regret having traded it in my quest for an amp in a head box.
     
  5. MKB

    MKB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    306
    Frankie, what mods are you doing? I'm about to take another stab at modding mine, am wanting even more highs than the C72/C73 mods will give. It sounds just about right with the boost off, but with boost on it's not quite bright enough (i.e. treble harmonics in the overdrive). I'm thinking of a mod that will even this out. Am looking to get into 2204 bright territory.

    If I get the time this week I'll try to drop the new mods in and will report here if anyone is interested.
     
  6. Frankie

    Frankie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Those are the mods that I was gonna do. Lemme know if you find something better!
     
  7. renips

    renips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Homestead, Florida
    Hey Frankie,

    I just picked up a Haze 40. I played one and it sold itself. I also need a small combo to take around with some balls. You say your Haze came with EL34's? Mine has the 6V6's in the power tube section. Did you get an earlier model? I am just starting to really get into the amp.
     
  8. Frankie

    Frankie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    6V6's? That's not right, only the Haze 15 should come with those. Someone might've put them in there to quiet it up. That amp is supposed to be 2xEL34.
     
  9. Ed K

    Ed K New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the replies. Is there a video anywhere showing how to bias the haze? My deluxe reverb is a piece of cake to bias--just turn a screw without having to take anything out. What about the haze?

    Ed
     
  10. Frankie

    Frankie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    The Haze has test points in the back if you take the baffle off. It's similar to the DSL, center is ground, then your positive test points are on either side. I think the manual says 39mA (so 39mv on your meter) per tube. If you're biasing 6V6's that'll be a different number.
     
  11. renips

    renips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Homestead, Florida
    Hey man,

    You are correct. I was looking at the spec page for the Haze 15. The Haze 40 spec page lists EL34's
     

Share This Page