Having an issue with 2203x effects loop

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by loneguitar, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    New to the forum and just recently back into the Marshall realm after being Marshall-Less for several years. I recently traded for a JCM 800 2203 Reissue and have run into a problem. I the past two times I have played it, it has been fine for a little while then all output cuts. No sound at all. It is getting power just no sound. I have narrowed it down to the effects loop. Since I have unplugged the cables from the jacks it has been running fine. Has anyone heard of this?
     
  2. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19,766
    Likes Received:
    15,677
    Location:
    Vermont
    Could possibly be what you have plugged into the loop.
    Why do you think it is a problem with the amp?
     
    mickeydg5 likes this.
  3. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only thing that was plugged in was my MXR Carbon Copy. I had it in the loop of my Mesa before with no issues. So I am just assuming it's the amp.
     
  4. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19,736
    Likes Received:
    7,606
    Location:
    US of A
    If you place a patch cable from SEND to RETURN does it cut out the same way?
     
  5. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didn't think to try that. I will try that Saturday and report back.
     
  6. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19,736
    Likes Received:
    7,606
    Location:
    US of A
    Make sure to test with good patch cables.
     
  7. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Played with a patch cable today for a short period of time and all was fine. I will try again tomorrow. If it is fine with the patch I guess that narrows it down to the Carbon Copy. Any ideas what could be happening there?
     
  8. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19,736
    Likes Received:
    7,606
    Location:
    US of A
    It could be a pedal innards, the jack connections or whatever cable you had been using. Check and clean everything.
     
  9. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Played for 2 hours today with patch cable in the fx loops. No issues. The carbon copy worked fine in front of the amp though not my favorite way. I guess I will check cables next. Unless for some reason this pedal just doesn't like the loop, which I dont know if that's possible. We shall see. At least it's not the amp
     
  10. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,016
    Likes Received:
    3,491
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I run the following in the loop of my 2203X with absolutely no issue:

    Boss Chorus --> MXR Carbon Copy --> Lee Jackson Mr. Springgy Reverb --> Monte Allums Modded Boss GE-7 EQ

    What level setting do you have your loop on? +4 dB or -10db

    From what I understand, +4dB is best for pedals and -10dB for rack mounted FX units.

    Hope this helps.

    DP
     
  11. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    That actually does help. I have been running it at -10db (button in). I will try it the other way.
     
    dptone5 likes this.
  12. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,016
    Likes Received:
    3,491
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Please let us know if this helps the situation.

    DP
     
  13. dptone5

    dptone5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5,016
    Likes Received:
    3,491
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I have to apologize my friend, I had the answer backwards. Please see the link below. Apparently it is -10dB for pedals. I've been running mine at +4dB with no issues. It does state that one should experiment to see what gives the best tone.

    DP

    Marshall FX Pedals | FAQ | Marshall Amps
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice