Having an issue with 2203x effects loop

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by loneguitar, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    New to the forum and just recently back into the Marshall realm after being Marshall-Less for several years. I recently traded for a JCM 800 2203 Reissue and have run into a problem. I the past two times I have played it, it has been fine for a little while then all output cuts. No sound at all. It is getting power just no sound. I have narrowed it down to the effects loop. Since I have unplugged the cables from the jacks it has been running fine. Has anyone heard of this?
     
  2. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19,630
    Likes Received:
    15,454
    Location:
    Vermont
    Could possibly be what you have plugged into the loop.
    Why do you think it is a problem with the amp?
     
    mickeydg5 likes this.
  3. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only thing that was plugged in was my MXR Carbon Copy. I had it in the loop of my Mesa before with no issues. So I am just assuming it's the amp.
     
  4. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18,926
    Likes Received:
    6,995
    Location:
    US of A
    If you place a patch cable from SEND to RETURN does it cut out the same way?
     
  5. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didn't think to try that. I will try that Saturday and report back.
     
  6. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18,926
    Likes Received:
    6,995
    Location:
    US of A
    Make sure to test with good patch cables.
     
  7. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Played with a patch cable today for a short period of time and all was fine. I will try again tomorrow. If it is fine with the patch I guess that narrows it down to the Carbon Copy. Any ideas what could be happening there?
     
  8. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18,926
    Likes Received:
    6,995
    Location:
    US of A
    It could be a pedal innards, the jack connections or whatever cable you had been using. Check and clean everything.
     
  9. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Played for 2 hours today with patch cable in the fx loops. No issues. The carbon copy worked fine in front of the amp though not my favorite way. I guess I will check cables next. Unless for some reason this pedal just doesn't like the loop, which I dont know if that's possible. We shall see. At least it's not the amp
     
  10. DPTONE5

    DPTONE5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I run the following in the loop of my 2203X with absolutely no issue:

    Boss Chorus --> MXR Carbon Copy --> Lee Jackson Mr. Springgy Reverb --> Monte Allums Modded Boss GE-7 EQ

    What level setting do you have your loop on? +4 dB or -10db

    From what I understand, +4dB is best for pedals and -10dB for rack mounted FX units.

    Hope this helps.

    DP
     
  11. loneguitar

    loneguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    That actually does help. I have been running it at -10db (button in). I will try it the other way.
     
    DPTONE5 likes this.
  12. DPTONE5

    DPTONE5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Please let us know if this helps the situation.

    DP
     
  13. DPTONE5

    DPTONE5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I have to apologize my friend, I had the answer backwards. Please see the link below. Apparently it is -10dB for pedals. I've been running mine at +4dB with no issues. It does state that one should experiment to see what gives the best tone.

    DP

    Marshall FX Pedals | FAQ | Marshall Amps
     

Share This Page