Guitar Wiring Help!

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by pedecamp, Jan 10, 2019.

1. pedecamp

pedecamp Well-Known Member

I rewired my Chibson LP with a new harness I built. The bridge pickup works fine but the neck and middle position on the toggle nothing. I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this. See the picture of my layout. I have a multimeter but dont know how to use it for troubleshooting. Brand new Emerson bumblebee caps and CTS 500k pots. Please help. Thanks!

[​IMG]

2. pedecamp

Wasnt too bad to build

[​IMG]

3. geddy

geddy Active Member

Looks like a lot of dry joints . Also the neck vol pot appears to have the cap lead touching the pot case. This will sound your signal

SRD and pedecamp like this.
  4. justinrhoads80

justinrhoads80 Well-Known Member

Try resoldering the joints that connect those positions to the selector switch. If still nothing I think you can use a potentiometer to find where a possible dead spot is or if a certain wire might be dead.

I am not good at this diagnosing part unless it is obvious so I think others will be able to help much more than I can

custom53 and pedecamp like this.
  5. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

I need to get you a soldering station for your birthday.

pedecamp likes this.
  6. pedecamp

I'll send you my mailing address :yesway:

Dude seriously pick me out one, you'd laugh at my current setup LOL.

Last edited: Jan 10, 2019
  7. pedecamp

Yes it is touching the case, I figured it didn't matter since the switch ground was tied into the pot, I'll start by pulling all that shizzle apart and do it over. Thanks!

8. pedecamp

Yeah that's what I think I'm gonna do, pull everything off the neck volume pot and just do it over.

9. geddy

geddy Active Member

You need a decent soldering iron for sure to make good connection s.

pedecamp likes this.
  10. GuitarIV

GuitarIV Well-Known Member