General Marshall question

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Shane Stevenson, Dec 25, 2019.

1. Shane Stevenson

Shane Stevenson Well-Known Member

As some of you guys know, I’m completely new to the Marshall thing but I’m here to stay!

I was just wondering, with my SV and SC is it safe to power these amps on while in standby mode like I’ve done with my other amps throughout the years? I’ve always done this and moved from “standby” to “on” after the tubes were warm.

2. Matthews Guitars

Matthews Guitars Well-Known Member

That is exactly how you are supposed to power up ANY tube amp. Power on, wait, standby on. Standby off, wait, power off.

3. ken361

ken361 Well-Known Member

yeah let them tubes warm up for a minute then rock it

4. Shane Stevenson

I was told on other amps to turn off by completely turning off without going to standby first. I think it has something to do with letting all power leave the amp by turning off this way. Does anybody do this or should I definitely go to standby first, then turn off. Sorry for the juvenile questions but I do appreciate the replies!

5. marshalltsl

marshalltsl Well-Known Member

Really interesting!

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/great-standby-switch-myth/

On my Astoria Custom I don't use the stanby switch, always it's on.

A tip of Steve Dawson, designer of the Astoria Range.

"I would actually discourage people from using the standby switch in any amps that utilize a valve rectifier. The transient stress is not good for it."

stringtree, tce63 and T.J. like this.
  6. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

That's fine you are doing it correct nothing wrong.
    When you turn the standby, there are bleeder resistors to discharge the power supply. It doesn't usually stay charged up when the amp is off.
    You can go ahead and use the standby as the beer break switch also...

7. Mitchell Pearrow

Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member