Fix for dsl40cr emulated out yet ?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Coachz, Jan 20, 2020.

  1. Coachz

    Coachz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just wondering if Marshall has fixed the horrible emulated out yet? I'd really like to use the features I paid for. Is anyone from Marshall here?
     
    matttornado and SkyMonkey like this.
  2. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    9,257
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    "Fix for dsl40cr emulated out yet?"

    upload_2020-1-20_18-16-50.jpeg
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  3. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8,992
    Likes Received:
    13,795
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
  4. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    It's weird, 3 generations earlier, the dsl401 had quite a good emulated out, very usable and suitable for PA or quick recording. It was clear, slightly bright.
     
  5. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    England
    The E/out on my 40CR is awful.
    But I can get around it using the Headphone out from my 4CM GT-100.
    Infinitely better, but not actually a fix.
    As for current production, I don't know. Mine's from 2018.
    And I doubt Marshall will announce that it's fixed, as that would basically be an admission that it was ever un-fixed.
     
  6. Coachz

    Coachz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    16
    If that's really Marshalls stance towards customers then it makes them a freaking fraud including features that never worked and never do
     
  7. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    473
    I just had my 2018 model 40CR in for service & had the motherboard replaced along with the latest firmware update. I'll check out the E/out and see if it's better. Mine sounded terrible too before I took it in for service.
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  8. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    England
    Is that a "paid for yourself" service, or a repair under warranty?
     
  9. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    Does anyone have s schematic for the 40cr?

    I don't have one myself, but a small sub-circuit like that is easy to model in software. I bet we could tune it up to make it a lot better with a simple mod!
     
    SkyMonkey likes this.
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    England
    No schematics for the new DSLs have escaped the clutches of Marshall yet!
     
    matttornado likes this.
  11. Lukas

    Lukas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    Canada
    Lol there’s a firmware update? Are we talking amps or Samsung Galaxies?
     
    matttornado likes this.
  12. K2JLX

    K2JLX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    New York
    Untrue. I have the schematics for the CR /HR. Drawing date of 20-11-2015, named dsl40/100mk2
     
  13. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    England
    The new DSL range are the Mk III versions. The schematic you quoted ends in Mk II.
    DSL401>DSL40C>DSL40CR
    Look for Master Volumes on the schematic you have.
    No MVs on the Mk II 40/100C.
    Two MVs on the Mk III 40/100CR.
     
  14. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    I've now seen the mk2 schematics and I think they are the cr,,/hr for the del 40 and 100 combined. there's two mv's.

    on this thread:

    http://www.marshallforum.com/thread...cs-are-finally-out-there.105345/#post-1779073

    But, it looks like there may be a page missing.

    The line-out circuit is a pair of simple opamp buffers. Something else is doing the emulated tone, and the manual says it's by Softtube implying its a digi sim within built-in firmware.

    However, if a better tone could be derived from a basic EQ tweak, then It may be possible to build it into the output buffer circuit.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
  15. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    England
    I stand corrected!
    Mk2 may refer to this being the 2nd version of the DSL CR/HR.
    Hopefully this sheet is common to 40 and 100.
    The 2nd missing sheet looks to be the power stage and outputs. This is where the 40 and 100 diverge.
    Cheers @JohnH, I'll have a copy of that.
     
  16. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    473
    Warranty work. My amp's volume started to fade out here and there and then one night, it went completely out. The marshall service center could not repeat the problem so they just replaced the whole board with the newest version.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  17. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    9,257
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    Would you e mail to me that schematic?
     
  18. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15,383
    Likes Received:
    9,257
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    The firmware is in the micro processor chip.
    The chip can be ordered and swapped.
     
  19. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    I think the thread linked above has 3 out of maybe 4 pages of the cr-hr schematics. What's there covers a lot of it, but there's a few key things missing, including the mains transformer, and whatever it is that 'Emul out' comes from, on the other side of connector CN204
     
  20. Coachz

    Coachz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    16
    The tech at Marshall sent me the new firmware board and when I tried it it still sounded horrible with lots of hiss and no tone. I recorded that line output and mic'd up the speaker output and uploaded it to the web for him to hear the differences at which point he said yeah you're right it is screwed up but we have no fix and no plans. Was very disappointed and still am
     
    matttornado likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice