Fender Convert Gets A Jubilee

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Polaris, Mar 11, 2019.

1. Polaris

Polaris Member

Found a killer local deal for a 2555x and 2551AV half stack so I jumped. I’ve played Fender amps for years and own a 212 Hot Rod DeVille as well as a USA 410 Blues DeVille, and I can’t believe the difference! The clean is amazing but that crunch! It’s the sound I didn’t know I was looking for. I also am surprised that I can get such a good tone at low levels even being a 100w amp; I find the 50w low power setting to be a bit anemic and has a 60hz hum.

Is there any common knowledge on Marshall amps that I should know? Thx in advance
    :agreed:

Attached Files:

2. Mitchell Pearrow

Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum new MF’r( Marshall forumer) and a happy new amp day ! You will get more responses just be patient, I have no experience with your particular amp, so I can offer no suggestions! Cheers Mitch

Polaris, Jon C and stringtree like this.
  3. Kinkless Tetrode

Kinkless Tetrode Well-Known Member

The hum in triode is likely caused by one or more of the output tubes not matching the plate dissipation of the others. It's easy to check and adjust the bias on the 2555x, though. Did you get it used? It might benefit from a new set of tubes in that case.

As your finding out, they are a pretty good sounding amp. I run high output master settings and balance the volume of the overdrive channel against the clean/crunch channel using the lead master. I run the input gain at at least 6. Small adjustments to the eq can have a profound effect on tone with these.

4. JacksonCharvelAddict

JacksonCharvelAddict Well-Known Member