Dsl5c Sudden Death - Power Issue

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by myonlybliss, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. Jr Deluxe

    Jr Deluxe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    265
    These little buzz machine amps that get driven hard all the time are going to go through power tubes at least once or twice a year. Get the right fuse and get a new ecc99. Dont even try to power on again without a new power tube. If im right you saved a fuse . If im wrong you got a much needed and soon to be used power tube.
     
  2. Gunner64

    Gunner64 Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5,779
    Likes Received:
    7,133
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    This...
     
  3. Richard Martin

    Richard Martin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    21
    Seen a video on utube on this modle, guy's Marshall gave out at venue, latter found bad fuses and when he checked his power tubes we're not what they should be. He said when he changed his EL34 tubes and re-biased, changed bad fuses, it was fine!
     
  4. myonlybliss

    myonlybliss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I took your advice:

    Replaced the fuse, took out the power tubes and powered the unit. MAGICALLY, the Channel LED came on!!

    Next, with new fuse in I put the tubes BACK IN, then powered up. Amp turned on, Channel LED STILL LIT!

    ALL FIXED, RIGHT!??? All was good until I plugged the guitar cable in from the guitar, then suddenly the amp CRAPPED OUT completely. No power light now......

    Guess I'm going to take it to amp repair shop (since it's still under warranty). Unless you guys have any other suggestions at this point.
     
  5. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20,626
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    Vermont
    Have you put a new power tube in it?
     
  6. myonlybliss

    myonlybliss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I haven't replaced any tubes. Should I try that before dropping off?

    Now, after taking them out and back in and powering up - I'm not even getting the red power light anymore though......
     
  7. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20,626
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    Vermont
    If you have a bad tube it could be blowing the fuses.
    Replacing the blown fuses without fixing the problem is wasting time and money.
     
    mickeydg5 likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice