DSL40CR and 4cm

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by spats71, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. spats71

    spats71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi all
    I have recently got a DSL40cr and was hoping to run it 4cm with my boss gt10. I was also hoping to use the amp ctrl operation on the gt10 to control the channels. Has anyone achieved this? Also is there a way to change between the different modes as well as the channels using this? When I plug into the fs input from the gt10 it doesn't allow me to engage the fx loop on the front of the amp so the fx I the loop don't operate. I would rather not have to try and learn midi programming as I'm not that technical!!! All in all I need some help!
    I have searched through the forum but can't seem to find anything. Any help gratefully received.
     
    SkyMonkey and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  2. Gene Ballzz

    Gene Ballzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I'm not personally experienced, but have seen the types of operations you desire mentioned along the way. Hopefully, those who've accomplished this will speak up and help you out. And yeah, the search engine here can be nearly useless, at best!

    Best To Ya!
    Gene
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  3. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    2,370
    Location:
    Wa State
    Hi @spats71
    I can help ……
    Is there anything else in the Audio Path besides the GT-10 ?
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  4. spats71

    spats71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for replying. Nothing else in the signal chain.
    Just seems strange that after setting up 4cm the fox loop is off on the amp. And pressing the fix switch on the amp doesn't work.
     
  5. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    2,370
    Location:
    Wa State
    Is This the way you are wired @spats71 ?
    Your audio signal Chain should be .. Guitar>GT10 Input>GT10 EFX Send>40CR Main Input>40CR EFX Send>GT10 EFX Return>GT10 Output ‘Left’>40CR EFX Return
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  6. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    14,888
    Likes Received:
    8,745
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    There is a possible issue with this amp.
    It's a bad microprocessor chip that has a firmware problem.
    However from what I hear you can buy the chip now and install it into the socket.
    This from what I am being told is the fix for the issues.
    I mentioned this because several others reported similar problems with DSL40CR.
    Until now they had been going to the service centers to get the chip replaced....apparently now you can just do it yourself.
     
    Sun King and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  7. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8,804
    Likes Received:
    13,441
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    Great intell there Ampmad.
     
  8. spats71

    spats71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yep, thanks Ampmad. How can I identify the microprocessor chip that I need to replace and where can I source it from? Is it direct from marshall?
     
  9. purpleplexi

    purpleplexi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    680
    That's interesting. It's hard to imagine Marshall telling people to poking around inside their amps though. Yeah I know people do but....
     
  10. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    England
    Regarding the problems you are experiencing with the FX loop, I assume you are still using the supplied 2-Button F/s.
    Does the front panel switching problem still occur when the F/s is unplugged?
    As you can see by my signature (below my post) I have a very similar setup to yours, and have a slight niggle with the FX loop switching too.
    When I use the DSL I have the FX loop on (for 4CM. 5CM is just stereo 4CM). Each time I switch off the DSL and come to use it another time the FX loop seems to always return to OFF. One cycle of OFF/ON fixes it for the duration of the session, until next time. I do not have anything plugged into the F/s jack on the DSL. Could you be having a similar glitch.

    GT-10 4CM:

    Capture.PNG

    BUT!!!! I would highly recommend hooking up the DSL40CR and GT-10 via MIDI.
    There really is almost nothing to have to learn.
    Just make sure no Footswitch is connected to the DSL.

    The only settings for the GT-10 are MIDI ON, Program Change messages ON (GT-10 manual p.82), and set to OMNI (p.79).
    Once the GT-10 is set to send MIDI on all channels (i.e. OMNI) then each of the 4 numbered patch footswitches sends a Program Change (PC) message to the DSL to select channel modes.
    By default:
    No.1 F/s will select Classic Clean
    No.2 F/s will select Classic Crunch
    No.3 F/s will select Ultra OD1
    No.4 F/s will select Ultra OD2

    This will be true for any bank of patches you select (User or Factory). F/s 1 will always select Classic Clean etc.

    Next you will need to wipe the first 4 User patches on the GT-10. Set the S/R (Send/Return) in the signal chain to ON and move it to just before the GT-10 Channel A/B splitter (p.38). This is necessary for 4CM, but (I think) is normally set to OFF by default for Factory presets.
    Turn off the GT-10 A/B preamps so that the DSL is the preamp. Tweak the effects to your satisfaction for each DSL mode!

    As Factory patches have S/R off by default, when a Factory preset, or a preset with S/R off is selected, the GT-10 internal preamps are utilised, bypassing the DSL preamp. So Factory presets sound the same (almost, the DSL tone controls are bypassed too) as if you just run the GT-10 in the front of a clean channel. The whole signal chain just goes to the DSL FX return.
    Repeat the above for User Bank 2, etc.
    To get a different patch for the same DSL mode you will have to BANK switch to a patch controlled by the same No. F/s.
    e.g. selecting a patch with No.3 gets you DSL OD1. Switch up one bank and the patch will still be controlled by No.3, and therefore still be OD1. You can set BANK changes to be immediate, or waiting for a PATCH pedal input (p.72).

    BTW I used to have a GT-10 and never realised that you can set up to 8 parameter Assigns to each patch (p.126).
    So for example: CTL 1 you can have an OD switch on, Phaser switch on, OD level increase by +10, change to preamp B, engage 10 Band EQ, etc. etc. All by pressing 1 CTL F/s.
    If you already knew this then you are a better man than me! Doh!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  11. spats71

    spats71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    Skymonkey - that is awesome!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. I hope to try it out on Friday and gig with it Saturday!

    If it can work alongside the 4cm I will be a very happy fella!!!
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  12. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    England
    I think you have to use the search engine Google style.
    If you search for something like BOSS OD-20 you will get hundreds of hits with the word BOSS, and only 5 of them refer to the OD-20.
    If you search using quotation marks "BOSS OD-20" you just get the 5 hits that are specifically about the OD-20.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  13. spats71

    spats71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi Skymonkey

    Just wanted to say thanks for all your help. I am now using the boss gt10 as a midi channel switcher as well as utilising the boss fx in the 4cm.

    It is fab!!!!

    Thanks for taking the time to show me how, I really appreciate it!
     
  14. SkyMonkey

    SkyMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    England
    No problem @spats71. We are here to help each other.

    BTW have you tried out the GT-10 Floorboard app for PC and Mac.
    It is free settings controller software, similar to the modern BOSS Tone Studio.
    Connect the GT-10 to your computer by USB and you can tweak everything from the PC.

    https://fxfloorboard.sourceforge.io/info.php?model=gt-10
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and Jon C like this.
  15. Sun King

    Sun King New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    Bingo! Yea good post AmpMad, I had the switching issue and took mine in last year to the service center, under warranty. They did the firmware upgrade / "replaced the DSP board" (?). Works fine now.

    PS, after that, I was having problems with the (very expensive!) six-button Marshall footswitch. I heard this from someone else, but for the six-button switch, you must use a TRS-type cable. Problem solved! The amp has SO much more functionality with this switch.

    Sorry to kinda hijack the Midi discussion. So far that seems to be the two big issues with the DSL-40CR. Mine's great, I love it! :dude:
     
    SkyMonkey and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  16. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    14,888
    Likes Received:
    8,745
    Location:
    Start the reactor... Free Mars!
    We appreciate any info that will help CR owners solve issues, thanks!
     
    Sun King likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice