Dsl No Sound

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Allterr, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Allterr

    Allterr Active Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    Yesterday had the house to myself for once so I HAD to crank up the ol' DSL (2009 JCM2K DSL100). Red channel up about 2 o'clock position on volume and gain. Was sounding really good until......

    Sound dropped out. Completely. It's had a bit of a hum to it lately, but I overlooked it. So all the lights work, it gets power, but no sound. All the tubes are lit up like normal. Is there anything I can try before I lug it all the way over to the tech?

    Cheers guys
     
  2. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    4,675
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    Change the fuse
     
  3. Allterr

    Allterr Active Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    Both mains and HT fuses are good.
     
  4. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    10,835
    Likes Received:
    5,027
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    There is 2 things you can do to check without taking it to a tech:
    Plug a guitar cable between send and return of the effects loop, then retest.
    Change the preamp tubes one at a time, swap them with 1 new 12AX7 tube. Re-Test every time you swap one out.
    A lot of times, it's a bad preamp tube that stops the sound from working.
     
    Allterr likes this.
  5. Allterr

    Allterr Active Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    Will do tomorrow... Thanks AMS
     
  6. zachman

    zachman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    4,675
    Location:
    Tone Mountain
    Check V4-- your phase inverter tube
     
  7. Allterr

    Allterr Active Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Victoria Australia
    Well....seems the speaker cable was shot. I swapped it with a known good one and bam . Got sound. I tend to overcomplicate things at times and overlook the simple stuff. Next on list is swapping the amber glowing switch to 230v. Easy task? Mine is still 117v and gets very hot after awhile...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice