DSL 50 C12 mod advice please

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Mike_j, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Mike_j

Mike_j Active Member

Hi,
    I been reading a fair bit about the C12 mod on DSL 50 heads and have 2 questions:
    1. Does it add more "body" to the red channel bringing it a bit closer to the fullness of the green channel, and take out some of the thin high end fizz?

2. Realistically, how hard is it for a complete beginner to do? Is it just a case of unsoldering the capaciter?

Any help/comments appreciated. Thanks.

2. Wilder Amplification

Wilder Amplification New Member

Unless you have a solid grasp on basic electronics, I advise against attempting anything inside of a valve amp simply due to the high voltages that exist inside of them (up around 400-500 volts...much higher than what comes out of your wall). I suggest you take it to a reputable tech who's familiar with valve amps.

As far as the mod, I have no idea since I've never played much through a DSL amp other than to test one out after fixing it.

3. Mike_j

Mike_j Active Member

Awesome. Thanks for that.

4. jcmjmp

jcmjmp Well-Known Member

C12 is a relative to a specific given set of board revision/issue numbers. It should be pretty simple to do but unless you know what the cap is supposed to do, it will be hard to determine if you're removing the correct component.

what is it that you're trying to fix? You want more bass on the Red Channel? Beware - too much bass on a high gain channel can lead to flubbyness.

5. Mike_j

Mike_j Active Member

jcmjmp

I'm finding the red channel too "thin". I'd like to get it a bit more full sounding.
    I'm taking it to my tech guy tonite but I'd like to be able to offer up some suggestions to him.

6. jcmjmp

jcmjmp Well-Known Member

Maybe your tubes need changing?