Convert JMP-1 200v to 100v

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by jejemorg, Jan 10, 2020.

Tags:
  1. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,
    I live in europe and I have a 220 volt JMP-1 for several years.
    I was happy with but I need to do some place at home, so I have decided to sell my JMP-1.
    But I can see that more people are interrested in the US, so I was wondering if I can easely modify the rack to be 110v compliant.
    I have look at the diagramm and I can see there's specific diode (LK1 & LK3) used to define the input voltage.


    Anyone else has already done this ?

    Thanks for your help and advice.

    Jerome
     

    Attached Files:

    tce63 likes this.
  2. tschrama

    tschrama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Netherlands
    the schemo says it al...

    LK2 selected for 230V mains
    LK1 & LK3 selected for 115V mains

    LK prolly means 'link', just a zero ohm connection, no passive component.
     
  3. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks
    This look like PNP transistor on the mainboard.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. scott-colorado2016

    scott-colorado2016 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Funny how that looks (the package) like a diode with no markings. I wonder if it's a fusable link to protect the transformer and the rest of the circuit from the wrong input voltage. One would think, if it were, there would be some kind of marking on it... Component rating or something. Hmmm.
     
  5. South Park

    South Park Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    A diode would have a stripe on it .
     
  6. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree, so what could it be :erk:
     
  7. South Park

    South Park Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    A fuze link
     
  8. Ken Underwood

    Ken Underwood Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Location:
    Annesley North Notts UK
    LK1 LK2 and LK3 are all links, nothing more, nothing less than that.
     
  9. Ken Underwood

    Ken Underwood Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1,237
    Location:
    Annesley North Notts UK
    Nothing like a PNP transistor, and there would not be one in that part of the circuit.
     
  10. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for all you answers, so this is just link.
    I was wondering about wiring a switch to easely move between both value , good idea or bad ?
     
  11. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    After some research this is a link with ferrite !
    I'm looking for buying but not found at the moment.
     
  12. jejemorg

    jejemorg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice