Connecting the JVM410h

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by ivanss, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. ivanss

    ivanss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    Hi, can anyone tell me how to connect the Marshall JVM 410h head to a 1960 straight cabinet.
    The head has 5 inputs and the cabinet has 2 inputs and a switch for mono and stereo.
     
  2. LesPaulopolis

    LesPaulopolis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Cab set to mono - use the 16ohm input

    head set to 16 ohms / plug into 16 ohm output
     
  3. ivanss

    ivanss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks so much man, but here's the thing, the head has the following inputs (see attached pic also):
    Two inputs that say:
    1x4 ohm
    2x8 ohm

    Next to the right other two:
    1x8 ohm
    2x16 ohm

    Next to the right another one
    1x16 ohm.

    Whis is the one???
    Thx so much
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    7,587
    Ivaanss

    1.Click the switch on the back of the 1960 cab to the far right.(its now in 16Ω mono)

    2.Then plug the speaker cable into the "Right Input" of the 1960 cab.(above this input you'll see "mono 16Ω" written above the input)

    3.And then plug the speaker cable into the 1x16Ω input on the JVM.
     
  5. spacerocker

    spacerocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    UK
    Strange, I thought 4 x 12 cabs were 8 Ohms....?
     
  6. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    7,587
    The 1960 cabs are 2 x 8Ω(stereo) or 16Ω(mono) or even 4Ω(mono) if switched to the left.
     
  7. ivanss

    ivanss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thx Australian... Got it, now I'm dealing with a lot of signal interference with some of my pedals when I'm in overdrive 1&2 (orange and red, a lot more on red lead).
    Looks like my overdrive and distortion pedals are ok, but as soon as my signal goes to the chorus, phase, eq and delays something makes the interference.
    Any recomendations???
     
  8. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    7,587
    I use an "Boss ns2" noise gate. When youre dealing with so much gain, extra pedals will do this. but its easily cleaned up with a noise gate.
    If you want a really good noise gate but its more expensive, Ive heard rave reviews about the "ISP GString".
     
  9. MonstersOfTheMidway

    MonstersOfTheMidway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    When playing through a JVM410H, It's ALL about (a) the number of cabinet you are using (1 or 2 cabs), AND (b)the ohms setting you are using on the cabinet(s)! The JVM features no ohms switching: you just gotta know how many cabinets you are using and the appropriate ohms setting on each. Follow AUSTRALIAN's information and you can't go wrong! Best of luck, Ivan.
     
  10. ivanss

    ivanss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    Australian was right man, I've got it all hook up and runnin. But I've just post it another thred regarding another issue. Can you guys help me??? I've install all the tubes myself and notice that the metal cover for one of the preamp tubes has a spring inside. Do I leave it in there with the tube or should I take it out with just the tube en the cover???
     
  11. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    14,211
    Location:
    Vermont
    Leave the spring in the cover. It holds the tube down.
     
  12. ivanss

    ivanss New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    It looks like the spring might push down hard on the tube, this won't be a problem???, It won't break it???
     
  13. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18,340
    Likes Received:
    14,211
    Location:
    Vermont
    It will be fine.
     

Share This Page