Code 25 vs 100 vs JVM

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by G. Levin, Mar 26, 2020 at 4:33 AM.

1. G. Levin

G. Levin New Member

I have been using Code 25 for six months.
    I like the sound in the headphones. Most of all I like JVM emulation.
    But the sound from the combo does not make me happy.
    A lot of dirt, bubbling. When recording this effect is less.
    Will there be an improvement from using a 100-watt version on a 2x12 inch speaker.
    Has anyone compared? Or not change, but save money for a real JVM?

2. FracStrat

FracStrat Well-Known Member

The Latter is my Vote ..

LPMarshall hack and Sapient like this.
  3. tallcoolone

tallcoolone Well-Known Member

Agree w/@FracStrat save up for the real thing. I've had a couple JVMs and I had the Code head for a bit. The Code stuff is a decent choice for a practice amp in your vacation home but not much more than that IMO.

4. G. Levin

G. Levin New Member

Sorry for my English :uk:

I live in an apartment. I need to play at a low volume. Would the JVM410C be too big for that. Will an attenuator be needed? Sometimes JVM1H heads appear on sale, but I want something adult with normal speakers. Used JVM410C and JVM1H with 2x12 cabinet will be equal in price.

Also, I sometimes need to record sound on a computer. I have an audio card and Logic PRO. I know about silent recording mode. I heard that this is not very good. What do you say about this?

Also interested in playing through the headphones through the same emulated output. How is the quality? I do not want to be disappointed if it is worse than Marshal Code ... Is it possible to connect a speaker simulator with impulses?

5. pedecamp

pedecamp Well-Known Member

What is your budget? Maybe you should get a Kemper or AXFX, you'll get all the tones you want and quiet/silent play ability with good tone.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, I was very happy with the MG series for quiet/silent play. :yesway:

6. G. Levin

G. Levin New Member