CHOOSING JCM 2000 TSL 100 NEW POWER AMP TUBES

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by Mike89, Dec 4, 2019.

1. Mike89

Mike89 New Member

Hi folks, just as the title says I have to replace my 4 tubes from the power amp section, because the ones I have now are probably gone: they all appear to be dark brown in their upper glass calotte and the sound is gone pretty weak and thin even above 4-5 volume level. So now I have to choose 4 new EL34 tubes, but being this the first time I need to do this and not knowing much about the topic, I'm asking you what would you suggest. I know there are many different brands (I currently have 4 Tung Sol tubes, put by the previous owner in 2010) and they will all sound different in every amp and I know it's mostly a matter of one's hear taste. What I'm looking for is to just make up my mind and try to make the most conscious choice I can, given that I have little to no knowledge on how different tubes will work in a Marshall amplifier. Also, would you buy them online and where? Thanks in advance

Last edited: Dec 4, 2019
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  2. anitoli

anitoli Well-Known Member

Do you know how to check bias?

3. Jethro Rocker

Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member Premium Member

It doesnt matter nearly as much on a TSL122 (your avatar) as the preamp tubes. I get mine from my local dealer. The Tube Store is supposed to be good online. Get a matched set of 4 that's within your budget.
    The bias is easy to check on a TSL as there are contact points outside the chassis to read wuth a multi meter. Browse and see what you think. I have many different types in many different amps. It's really not that drastic with a TSL especially if it isn't turned up so high.

4. marshalltsl

marshalltsl Active Member

IMHO the best tubes for a TSL100 are the El34 Svetlana, winged C are great. But many others EL34 brands are fine. Right now I'm using a quad from TAD that sounds great in my favorite TSL100.