Can Someone Tell Me Which One Is The V1 Tube In The Dsl 40

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by OzoneGP, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry for the noob question.
    Thanks
     
  2. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    It's the tube closest to the input jack.
     
    solarburnDSL50, Len and OzoneGP like this.
  3. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks.
     
  4. JohnH

    JohnH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Likes Received:
    913
    Location:
    Wilton NSW
    and it it probably inside a metal can.
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  5. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. I just bought a JJ 12ax7. I'm going to try to exchange the V1 tube. I want to smooth out the gain alittle.
     
  6. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    this one right?
    [​IMG]
     
  7. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,730
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    yes
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  8. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks :thumb:
     
    ken361 likes this.
  9. Rick Lee

    Rick Lee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    AZ
    Pretty sure it's marked on the board in white.
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  10. paulorr8179

    paulorr8179 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY USA
    I believe it is in the slot marked V1.

    Kidding !!
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  11. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    If you don't like the massive gain: you can replace that V1 with 12AT7, 12AU7, etc...and it will lower it down.
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  12. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Really? I thought the preamp tube V1 could only a 12ax7 style tube. I might have to do that. Is the 1st and 2nd channel affect by the V1 preamp tube. Because my main objective is to clean up the 2nd channel. the 1st one sounds incredible as it is.
     
  13. ken361

    ken361 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,730
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    Location:
    detroit rock city
    you will lose fatness though
     
  14. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Huh. Something to experiment with I suppose. Thank
     
  15. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    OK looking at this second channel: We do not have a schematic (yet) to DSL40C.
    Or it was removed possibly...
    In order to really analyze how to change the channel to find what you are looking for, you need to find the schematic to work from.
    (or draw one)
    Yeah, you need to get really specific about how the channel gain (sensitivity) is switched in / out.

    By changing parts in that switching circuit, it is possible.

    If you do find the schematics, please post the link and we can continue.

    12AX7 is the highest gain, 12AT7 (and others) are a replacement with lower sensitivity.
    So, you can use any 12__ __ 7....
    12AT7
    12AU7
    12AY7

    "Because my main objective is to clean up the 2nd channel...."
    you can do that with some tweaking, but a bit complicated. Can still be done.

    JJ gain is a little above average typically. There is a very wide range of 12AX7 tubes.
    Sino is way above average gain...(like, double or more)
    JJ is a little above average typically.
    Then if you use a "low noise" "low microphonic" you are also looking at much lower gain, typically....like a hi fi / broadcast tube.
    Hi fi tubes are lower gain because they need lower noise. (makes sense)
    So, you would probably not use a Sino tube in a Hi Fi !
     
    OzoneGP likes this.
  16. CraigP

    CraigP Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    165
    Sent you a PM
     
  17. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    What are you trying for?
    To change lead 1, lead 2, clean crunch, I'm not sure what you mean by "second channel."

    Exactly which one sounds good? and which one needs to change? (the switch settings)
    and what do you want to do to the one that needs changing? (lower the gain?)
     
  18. CraigP

    CraigP Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    165
    I am not trying for anything other than sharing a diagram in that PM that I have on my computer :) I like my amp just like it is thank ya LOL
     
  19. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    On the wrong side of the tracks.
    Thanks for the mail. Sorry I though you were changing something.
     
  20. OzoneGP

    OzoneGP New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    The Classic Gain Clean crunch is the one I mainly use. That to me has the best sound. So when I select the Ultragain
     

Share This Page