Can I run a 8 ohm amp on a 16 ohm cabinet?

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by Gerry Blue, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. Gerry Blue

    Gerry Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico, Rock City
    I'm sure this has been asked but please bear with me Im new here.

    I Have this amp that only has an 8 OHM output, and a cabinet that has a 16 OHM rating (2 speakers x 8 OHMS), can I use them together?. The amp doesn't have any kind of switch, only this output.

    I believe the only option would be to use just one of the speakers alone?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    If it's a tube amp, don't do it, the impedance mismatch will likely blow the output transformer. If you got another 16 ohm cab you could connect them in parallel for an 8 ohm load.
     
  3. cudamax2343

    cudamax2343 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Outside of Chicago
    Wait a minute 2 8ohm's does not make a 16, dude. If you got a meter just check and see what you got at the tip of the cable that goes into the head.
    If you can get to the back of each speakers. See what they are marked or check each with a meter.
    You just might have 2 16ohm speakers and if so, you can just rewire the speaker leads to make 2 16ohm speakers a 8ohm load.
    If they are 8ohm speakers. I'm not sure but I think your out of luck. That will get-cha 4omhs. Don't think you can get 8ohms out of 2 8ohm speakers but again I'm not sure and anyways I've never heard of an amp that only has an 8ohm tap. It might be capable of running 4ohms, then you would be alright.
    I'm just a guitar player. Dont really know. Maybe you might want to wait for someone else to reply.
     
  4. NewReligion

    NewReligion Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9,626
    Likes Received:
    6,744
    Location:
    Wringing That Neck
  5. Bieling3

    Bieling3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    up-state New York
    Make and model of the amp and the cabinet would helpful, but it sounds like he has two 8 ohm speakers wired in series (16 ohms)... that's not going to work.

    See also: All About Ohms
     
  6. cudamax2343

    cudamax2343 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Outside of Chicago
    So 2 8ohm speakers in series will give-ya a 16ohm load?
    Can you wire 2 8ohms for a 8 ohm load? or is it only possible to get 4ohm's & 16ohm's with 2 8's?
     
  7. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    8+8 series = 16 ohm load
    8+8 parallel = 4 ohm load
    these are the only two possible combinations from 2 8ohm loads
    as Adwex pointed out if your amp is a valve amp then bad idea
    if it's a solid state amp you should have no problems
     
  8. Gerry Blue

    Gerry Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico, Rock City
    Thanks for the heads up, the head in question is an all tube Crate Palomino V32, with only an 8ohm output, and I've got a cabinet with two celestions at 8ohms each in series for 16 ohms total.

    I guess I'll have to buy another cabinet, oh poor me :naughty: :hmm:

    Peace to all
     
  9. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    you can always run one of them till you get what you need
     
  10. cudamax2343

    cudamax2343 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Outside of Chicago
    Those are Sweet. Is it a Blonde one? I know where there is one for sale.
     
  11. Rockin_Lisa

    Rockin_Lisa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Badlands
    Well Buggs, we are done with your math lesson for today. Now it's time for your German language lesson.

    Welches ist Dein bestes Fach?

    Kann ich bitte Ihren Namen und Ihre Adresse haben?
     
  12. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    Kommen Sie ein und machen Sie die Tür zu! Sie sollen nicht hier essen, aber Sie können dem Fernseher einen Mantel geben! Ich habe zum Frankreich gegangen, aber sie haben keine Würstchen!


    real answer
    how to make millions and under this here rock
     
  13. Rockin_Lisa

    Rockin_Lisa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Badlands
    Wow.

    Konnten Sie das bitte erklaren. Was bedeutet das in Englisch?
     
  14. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    Y/A.....i hope i phrased this right
    Come in and shut the door. You may not eat here, but you can give the TV a coat. I have gone to France, but they have no hotdogs!
     
  15. MartyStrat54

    MartyStrat54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    25,999
    Likes Received:
    9,455
    Location:
    Licksville
    Nice, I always wanted to pick up a second language. Know any Chinese?
     
  16. Gerry Blue

    Gerry Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico, Rock City
    How about rewiring the speakers in parallel to have a 4 ohm load, with the 8 ohm amp, would this work?

    Danke!
     
  17. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    Hell no....even in solid state you always match your impedance. but it is safer to have a 16ohm load into an 8ohm amp than a 4ohm load
    i hope i say this correctly.....with impedance you can push uphill not downhill
    and always match it on a tube amp or pay for it later
     
  18. Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9,935
    Likes Received:
    3,116
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    No.

    Solid state you can go over with the only effect being not using all the power available. PA's do this all the time, by design. My PA puts out about 700 watts RMS at 2 ohms. We run 8 ohms (or maybe 4 come to think of it; I'm not the techie!) so we don't go deaf. They even list the power vs. load on the back.

    NEVER go under with SS though...like running 4 ohms in an 8 ohm load. This will fry the amp.

    Ken
     
  19. Buggs.Crosby

    Buggs.Crosby New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    S.Jersey
    is that not what i said....only with not as technical?....like my 8280 combo
    it's 80 watts a side into 8ohms....but 100 into 4
     
  20. Ken

    Ken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9,935
    Likes Received:
    3,116
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    You said "safer" implying a risk. Mismatching a tube amp is a real risk, albeit small if you don't do it all the time and the mismatch is slight, and you have a good output tranny (unlike many Marshalls!). But mismatching a tube amp is never recommended even though personally I'm not afraid to occasionally run a 5.333 ohm load in a 4 ohm setting.

    In a SS amp the risk is ZERO if you have a higher impedence output than the speaker load. Zero. You just don't get the full power the amp can deliver.

    Ken
     

Share This Page