Can I power my amps with a UPS battery-backup?

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by SonVolt, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville
    I've got a few of these laying around from work and being free, they're whole hell of a lot cheaper than buying a standalone power conditioner. It claims voltage regulation and line noise suppression for clean power - I'm no electrical engineer but that sounds just like a $500+ Furhman unit. Would this offer me the same benefit?

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Tripp Lite OmniVS Series 1000VA Tower Line-Interactive 120V UPS with USB port (OMNIVS1000)

    • Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
    • Surge suppression
    • 1000VA/500 watt power handling ability supports PCs, audio/video equipment and home theater systems
     
  2. HOT TUBES 70

    HOT TUBES 70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11,083
    Likes Received:
    5,472
    Location:
    The frozen hell called Canada !
    Interesting ... :scratch:
     
  3. HOT TUBES 70

    HOT TUBES 70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11,083
    Likes Received:
    5,472
    Location:
    The frozen hell called Canada !
    The more i read .... the more i wanna say YES !
     
    SonVolt likes this.
  4. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville

    I'm powering a Mesa Mark V (90 watts) and a Triple Rec (150 watts) right this second... seems to be working ok, very quiet too. The more I read the box and compare it to a Furhman unit, i'm starting to think us guitar players are being ripped off... unless I'm missing something.
     
  5. HOT TUBES 70

    HOT TUBES 70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11,083
    Likes Received:
    5,472
    Location:
    The frozen hell called Canada !
    I'd say your in business !!
    Run the hell out of it ...
    I like the price too ..... LOL !
     
    SonVolt likes this.
  6. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20,250
    Likes Received:
    16,342
    Location:
    Vermont
    As long as the current rating is greater than the load (amp) you are fine.

    The price difference comes from filtering and regulation. Furman units have more of that than just a simple UPS.
     
    hazmat7719 and johnfv like this.
  7. Riffraff

    Riffraff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    754
    Location:
    Dutchess County NY
    ^ This. I'm not sure how much of a filtering/regulation difference there is. You would need to look into the specifications on both to determine if there is a big difference or not. The convenience of a rack mountable configuration, output indication and rack lights would be some of the other added cost. I say if you got them for free by all means use them.
     
  8. Vinsanitizer

    Vinsanitizer Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    25,317
    Likes Received:
    17,505
    How much jam time before shutdown? 15 minutes?
     
    johnfv likes this.
  9. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville

    I'm not sure, I've never pulled the plug to find out.
     
  10. scat7s

    scat7s New Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13,867
    Likes Received:
    7,287

    keep in mind, 90 /150 w ratings are the amps output capability. not its consumption requirements.
     
  11. mott555

    mott555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    2,639
    Location:
    Omaha
    Some UPS's go all square-wave when they're unplugged, I'm not sure what that would do to an amp.
     
  12. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville
    How do I determine consumption requirements?
     
  13. scat7s

    scat7s New Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13,867
    Likes Received:
    7,287
    i dont know. typically its printed on the back panel or in the manual. but i briefly scanned thru the triple rec manual and couldnt find it.

    im sure your safe at 500w. but im not sure id run them both off the same supply. that might be cutting it close.
     
  14. Adwex

    Adwex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    9,021
    Likes Received:
    4,080
    Location:
    I'm not sure.
    Should probably appear on a label in the back. If I remember correctly, my 100 watt jub says 375 watts input power.
     
    SonVolt and scat7s like this.
  15. mott555

    mott555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    2,639
    Location:
    Omaha
    Get a Kill-A-Watt.
     
  16. damienbeale

    damienbeale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Oxford ish sorta...
    1000vA is more than sufficient for any 100W or less Marshall. Could be in trouble with a Major, or the JCM2000 amps, or a VBA400 but I've never measured any of those for current draw.
     
  17. mott555

    mott555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    2,639
    Location:
    Omaha
    I measured my JCM2000 DSL 100 at 140 watts from the wall. That was at idle/low volumes though.
     
  18. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville

    Why would a JCM 2000 be different?
     
  19. Stillhouse

    Stillhouse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Deep In The South Of Texas
    That's what I was thinking. Not a issue with PCs. For amps it may be a horse of a different color.

    *EDIT*

    Did some reading and found some info saying that an UPS with sine wave output should do fine. Looking at the specs of SonVolt's UPS, it looks like it'd be good to go, at least while on AC:

    http://www.tripplite.com/en/products/model.cfm?txtModelID=2656&gclid=CJnI99GD17sCFQbl7AodD1oA7g

     
    SonVolt likes this.
  20. SonVolt

    SonVolt Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15,564
    Likes Received:
    15,894
    Location:
    South of Nashville
    Great, so it sounds like I won't damage anything. Now, do I have the same protection/regulation as a Furman unit? I'm wondering if there's a racket in the musical biz and we're paying too much for something that could be had for $150 at Office Depot.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice