Can I hook up a 4x12 to a combo?

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by josep_cla, Jul 13, 2019 at 11:30 AM.

  1. josep_cla

    josep_cla New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi gents.
    I have a 2x12 Artisté (no speakers in at the moment) and I am thinking about installing a pair of 8ohms Celestions (16 ohms total) and use the other output to hook up a JCM800 4x12 (16 ohms).
    Is this ok?
    16&16, I know, but not sure if I can do that with different number of speakers.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    Wa State
    No
    Well yes but you would want to rewire and create a switching Jack Array or a Custom Speaker Cord…… Gotta do the Math on the match
    Or just
    No
     
    tallcoolone likes this.
  3. josep_cla

    josep_cla New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you, but... what?
    I mean, if I have 2 inputs both 16ohm the total series/parallel still matters as all the speakers were in the same cab. Is it it?
     
  4. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    Wa State
    If you have two 16ohm cabs Daisy Chained together ( Parallel ) then your total resistance is 8ohm
    Two 8ohm cabs Daisy Chained ( Parallel) is 4ohm

    The problem lies in that the 2/12 speakers are 8ohm in series to resist at 16 ohm
    and the 4/12 are 16ohm Speakers wired in Series/Parallel to resist at 16ohm

    With the speakers that you have ( 2 8ohm ) your choices are parallel yielding 4ohm or in series yielding 16ohm

    If you wired in Series and connected both cabs , You’re @ 8 ohm
    Does your amp have an 8ohm Output ??
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019 at 1:05 PM
  5. josep_cla

    josep_cla New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, yes. I asked because I was not sure if that was a problem.

    It seems it is..
     
  6. Jon C

    Jon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    Wa State
    Does you amp have an 8 ohm Output ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019 at 1:11 PM
  7. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    I would think most amps have an 8 ohm output, I can't think of any tube amps that don't? A 2 x16 ohm load is totally fine, if indeed this is the case. What amp is it OP??
    Not familiar with 2x12 Artisté
    Number of speaker is irrelevant as long as it's 2 matching impedances within amp's specs. Thus 2x16 ohm loads.
     
  8. Dogs of Doom

    Dogs of Doom Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    18,393
    Likes Received:
    17,437
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  9. josep_cla

    josep_cla New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, that is the amp model. I own a head and a combo.
    They have 2 speaker outputs and impedance selector: 4, 8 and 16 ohm.
    So, can I do it safely?
     
    Dogs of Doom likes this.
  10. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20,060
    Likes Received:
    16,055
    Location:
    Vermont
  11. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Yes. Set it to 8 and go!!
     
    Dogs of Doom likes this.
  12. ampeq

    ampeq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    257
    Does it really need more than a 4-12" cab? I used to use either / or with my combo's, for different sounds.
     
    Dogs of Doom likes this.
  13. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    20,647
    Likes Received:
    8,400
    Location:
    US of A
    Everything needs more speakers in my opinion. Or at least a plethora. :D

    Playing with one speaker is like using a $99 guitar. There aint no way around that unless you mic and go through the board/house.
     
    Filipe Soares likes this.
  14. josep_cla

    josep_cla New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hahhaah.
    Yes, more is more. Absolutely.
     
  15. ampeq

    ampeq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    257
    I think that depends on the amp and speaker. I know I can play louder than you can stand it with mine. I do like a 2-12" cab or 4-12" on stage, but I have never needed more than that. (Except back when I had junk)
     
  16. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    To some degree, sure. Most venues I play always mic the amp for dispersion if nothing else. But the little 6101 1x12 at 100 watts can tear down many venues. Same with the 4010.
     
  17. mickeydg5

    mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    20,647
    Likes Received:
    8,400
    Location:
    US of A
    I was not talking about power at all. Once the 1x12 is mic'd and sent through house then it becomes a multi-array of speakers. That is dispersion on a mass scale as compared to a single 1x12.
     
    Jethro Rocker likes this.
  18. oldmanrockin

    oldmanrockin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    20
    Marshall DSL1 only has one jack 16ohm
     
  19. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Fair enough. I think given it's a 1 watt run from a 12AX7 you could likely run at 8 ohms and not destroy anything either.
    The OP s amp was certainly more output than that as it was a 2x12 amp.
     
  20. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    6,520
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Yes very much so. My problem with a 4x12 in some venues is it projects straight out quite a ways before it starts to disperse thus rendering it hard to hear on the opposite side of the stage in front. This is without miking. Sometimes an open back can be better in terms of dispersion.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice